Law school debt (check), debt paid down (check), retirement (...)

WhatsinaName

Confused about dryer sheets
Law school (check), debt paid down (check), retirement (...)

Hello,

I'm 29, a lawyer making ~$100K, just paid off all of my debt, have ~$20K in retirement (Roth IRA and SEP-IRA) and want to begin my journey toward financial independence and retirement. Fortunately, I love my work and working (sure, I may change my tune after a decade or two), so may not ever formally retire. But I would like the option to.

Goals: purchase a new car (my 200,000+ mile Honda is nearing the end), purchase a house (in the SF Bay Area, no less) and save for big life things (wedding, kids, retirement).

Since I just paid off my debt I am just beginning to put money into savings, but am more intrigued by investments. That said, I desire a certain amount of liquidity, should opportunities present themselves for a car or house.

I would love some feedback or referrals to certain threads on (a) the best approaches to planning long-term, (b) the right balance of savings v. investments given my more immediate desired purchases and (c) anything else you can suggest!

Looking forward to getting to know you folks.

Last edited:
Wow, what a resource. This could keep me busy for days -- strike that -- years. Thanks, racy.

Welcome to the forum. The Bogleheads is good advice. I would also suggest figuring out your priorities and using those to guide where money goes. Given everything, your net worth position is pretty good, but your household income is relatively modest for where you live so you may not be able to hit everything in the near future.

You didn't mention an emergency fund. If you don't have one, I would suggest trying to build that up. This could also be a pot for a replacement car and/or a house. If your employer matches the SEP-IRA, I would also be sure to contribute enough to get all that free money.