Join Early Retirement Today

New guy & question on multi accounts
Old 02-03-2006, 12:59 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

New guy & question on multi accounts

Hello all,
* * *I've posted a few times and thought I'd introduce myself.
* * *I am 39, wife 41, having our first child in 1 month.* Yeah I know we got started late!
* * *I've been working in the federal government for almost 10 years total, after a 2 year stint at a major telecom firm which ended in a layoff in 2002.
* * *As a result, I have 3 401K accounts and have been wondering if I should consolidate them.*
* * *As a federal employee I have an account in the TSP system, which has low costs but limited choices.* I also have an account at Fidelity (about $36K in Fidelity 2030 asset alloc funds), and around $18K in USAA funds (mix of S&P 500 index and cornerstone strat fund, USCRX and USSPX).*
* * *I am interested in everyone's opion of the TSP program and if the new lifecycle funds are worthwhile.*
* * *I've been in the army national guard for 21 years, so I am set up for a limited military retirement at age 60.*
* * *So, any TSP experts out there?* I was considering putting all my funds into the 2040 lifecycle account...

Thanks!
Bill
Bimmerbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!