New guy here - is a few more years enough?

wannabefire

Dryer sheet aficionado
Newbie here. We aspire to retire sooner than later (or at least stop working for the man). We are both near 50 years young.

Here's our stats. Let me know what I am missing or need to clarify.

Assets:
Tax Deferred $1.3m (32% US Stocks, 29% Int'l Stocks, 25% Bonds 10% Alternatives 3% Cash)
Taxable $1.1M (39% US Stocks, 25% Int'l Stocks, 25% Bonds, Alternatives 10%)
Cash $240k

Other Variables:
Home Value $750k
No Mortgage
No Debt
No Pensions
Pre-funded college
Currently saving $100k/yr now that mortgage is paid and college pre-funded
I'm not sure about counting SS, as I have concerns about its viability-long term (it would be about $2,600/mo each if we wait till 70)

Assumptions for Expenses:
Monthly Fixed Expenses (includes $2,000/mo placeholder for Health Ins) $3,800/mo
Monthly Discretionary Expenses $2,200/mo

I'd love to be done with the rat race ASAP. DW is concerned about stepping away from peak earning years. Also, DW wants to keep our current spending ability.

If we stick it out 3-4 more years, we add to savings aprox 100k/yr in principal AND keep employer group Health Insurance, which would also get the kids to 26 where they'd need their own Health Insurance anyway.

Any thoughts on how we are looking?

EDIT - I checked FIRECalc with $2.5m, 75k expenses, 45 years in retirement and 2 years of additional savings (100k) and it came back with 100%. I do question that a bit...

Last edited:
Have you run these scenarios through FIRECalc?
You're probably fine, but FC is a good tool.
Don't fret about SS, we may get a haircut (doubtful) at the worst.
Congrats!:dance:

Have you run these scenarios through FIRECalc?
You're probably fine, but FC is a good tool.
Don't fret about SS, we may get a haircut (doubtful) at the worst.
Congrats!:dance:

OP here.

Thanks!!

Checked FIRECalc and it looks good! I am a little bit skeptical though...

Also edited my original post.