Join Early Retirement Today

New to forum; 31 lookin' for 51 ER
Old 12-15-2007, 02:33 PM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

New to forum; 31 lookin' for 51 ER

Glad I finally found a forum such as this. For awhile I thought I was one of the few pondering these various questions. I'm a military/airline pilot married to a High School English teacher on maternity leave.

Here is my situation.

Me: 32, Wife 28
Our Roth's together: $60,000
TSP: $28,000
Cash: $51,000
Home Equity: $40,000

Getting ready to start a new fed job with a 20 year retirement. So I will retire at 52 with a min. pension of $53,000K annually.

With this new job I will max out my 401K matching retirement plan and continue to put money back each year.

At age sixty I will have a military retirement of approximately $24,000K annually.

I will always max. out my wife and I's Roth. Only debt is mortgage and one car payment of $240. We live well within our means with two kiddos.

We are getting ready to move and I plan to use the VA loan to purchase a home. With no down payment required, we will have approx. 91K in cash. I would like to invest atleast 50K of this in an investment that I won't touch until age 52.

Any suggestions on the 50k investment?

Please help me find holes in my plans.
beebers is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!