Join Early Retirement Today

New to the Boards
Old 08-11-2011, 07:30 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

New to the Boards

Hi I am 59yrs old who has been lurking for awhile. Great site!
I am married and plan to retire with the class of 2012. Invested mainly
In Real Estate and as we sold most of our properties we dumped the maximum money into 401k and 457 for a number of years. I work as a computer programmer and my wife is a manager. We have always lived way below our means. We pretty much have been living on one salary since 1994. We had no idea how well we were doing until read a number of books on retirement in the Past 6 months.
It is still hard to get my head around to that. I spent so many years getting to this point that it is still hard to imagine I can retire soon. Plan to start with winters in Florida Feb. 2013 and we are not sure where we will spend the rest of the time. We been to a number of potential places over the years and we liked so far we like the Knoxville area the best in the north and the St. Petersburg are in the south.
We are very active and love to travel. We usually take 2 3 vacations a year and spend most summer weekends at our lake house in the Georgia Mountains.

Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!