Join Early Retirement Today

Newbie Here
Old 08-15-2006, 01:58 PM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

Newbie Here

Hi y'all. I discovered this forum recently and have made the decision to actively participate some.

A bit about me. I (38), my husband (32) and our two kids (5 and 3 1/2) live in expensive California. I'm a SAHM, DH works in technology. We have approx. $120k in 401(k), about $8k in stocks and we just put $180k down on our house, with a mortgage of $365k (which isn't bad for California!). No other debt or car payments and we don't expect to need a new car for a few years, at the earliest. We also have about $7k in savings, but we keep that for emergency house repairs and the like and don't consider that part of our long-term savings. We want to make sure we have enough set aside for emergencies and travel so we, hopefully, won't have to touch our retirement savings. Additionally, we have about $5k saved for our kids' college in 529 plans and about $1k saved for them.

Right now, we live a bit below our means, but would like to conserve and save more.
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!