Newbie here...42 and getting close?

Travelwanted

Recycles dryer sheets
Hello all - some really informative posts on here. Thanks to all those who share and help give insight to the FIRE topic.

Me; I have been blessed to have a very high paying but stressful career. As I have learned that money is more about security than the fancy things one can buy with it, I have decided to RE. The question is when. And yes, I have used FIREcalc and other calculators. I really like MSN retirement calculator.

Current vitals:
42, married, 2 kids
no mortgage
7.5 million in investable assets, mostly after tax dollars
saving 1 million/yr
retirement package will be 1.3-1.8 million payable over 5 years
100k in 529

I want to retire in 2.5 years. I know the numbers are large but I once I retire there is no going back.

We plan to travel the world over the 5-8 years after retirement renting as we go and home schooling our kids.

Advice? Suggestions?

Hello all - some really informative posts on here. Thanks to all those who share and help give insight to the FIRE topic.

Me; I have been blessed to have a very high paying but stressful career. As I have learned that money is more about security than the fancy things one can buy with it, I have decided to RE. The question is when. And yes, I have used FIREcalc and other calculators. I really like MSN retirement calculator.

Current vitals:
42, married, 2 kids
no mortgage
7.5 million in investable assets, mostly after tax dollars
saving 1 million/yr
retirement package will be 1.3-1.8 million payable over 5 years
100k in 529

I want to retire in 2.5 years. I know the numbers are large but I once I retire there is no going back.

We plan to travel the world over the 5-8 years after retirement renting as we go and home schooling our kids.

Advice? Suggestions?

First off, congratulations!!