Newbie here and introducing myself

gtbguy

Confused about dryer sheets
I've been a lurker here for a couple months now and I now decided to write my first post (kind of a long read). I look forward to engaging in future retirement discussions with you all.

A little bit about myself and wife:

I just turned 55 last week and plan on retiring (probably) a year from now.

I've been at my present job of 31+ years and can retire with a pension anytime. My calculations would estimate my pension to be $4,000 per month if I leave in Feb. of next year. FYI, no COLA.

I have a 401K with a balance of ~$900K.

My wife is 53 has a 403B with a balance of ~$400K but has no pension.

We have 4 rental properties (paid off) that pay us $4,800 per month and are valued at ~$850K. (We've had VERY little down time with no rent from the properties).

We currently have a daughter attending an Ivy League school and we're currently paying for and have enough money (no loans) to pay off her 4 years. She is in her a sophomore year now.

On the side, I build houses (only for myself) live in them 2-3 years, sell them, and then build another one. Yes, I'm getting kind of tired moving and as you get older it sure gets hard to keep packing boxes!

We have no personal or auto loans, etc.

We currently have a mortgage on our personal residence with a payment of $2700 per month. We plan on putting the house for sale here in a month or so, and once we sell we estimate to have about $400K to either build another house (add a loan) or buy an existing house outright and have no loan. BTW, I won't retire until the house is SOLD.