Join Early Retirement Today

Ready to drop out of the rat race
Old 04-17-2015, 10:44 AM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

Ready to drop out of the rat race

I have been lurking on this site since January when I found the FIRECALC program from a link on the Retire Early homepage.

I am not sure why I need to do this, but, I need to tell my story. I will try to keep it as brief as possible. I graduated from college in the late 70's and took a job with megacorp. One of their recruiting spiels was we
have never had a layoff in our history.... A few years later, I watched the guy with the clipboard walk down the row of highwalled offices. He was offering everyone over age 55 with 30 years of a service a bridge to retirement. They were offering full salary and medical benefits until age 62.... (megacorp still trying not to have a layoff) I was shocked when not a person accepted the package, to a person they said "I can't afford to retire, I never saved a dime." I could not believe they even offered a seven year long severence package... WOW. I learned a good lesson here vicariously and started my own savings plan.

When I graduated from college, I was pretty much financially ignorant. I had to teach myself how to reconcile my checkbook... I fooled around and bought and sold some stocks and stock option contracts. I lost money on pretty much every trade. Thanfully, I discovered Scott Burn's columm in the business section of the newspaper. He is almost single handedly responsible for my money education. Thank you Scott.