Ready to retire - looking for inspiration

bonvoyage

Recycles dryer sheets
My wife and I (both mid 50s) are both working in relatively high paying jobs near New York. Financially, we are more than well set. For years we have mostly lived on one paycheck and saved most of the rest. I'm really ready to quit but my wife is very happy in her job. I'm planning to quit by next year and my wife is fully supportive. I have no problems at all :)

I have joined this forum to get my thoughts in order before making the big jump. Hopefully learn from those who have made the transition.

I'm really ready to quit but my wife is very happy in her job. I'm planning to quit by next year and my wife is fully supportive.

Sounds like a win-win!

So what are you planning to do when not working? It's better if you know what you want to do, versus only knowing what you don't want to do.

My background is math/computer science/cognitive science (have a PhD in CS). I still really enjoy computing and math but I don't want to do it for anyone else anymore - I want to do stuff just for the fun of it. I have collected a small mountain of scientific books and academic papers that I am dying to read. My job leaves with very little time for study unfortunately. I'd also like to contribute to open source software.

My other hobby is model trains - a passion since childhood. I know - really geeky but that's what really makes me happy :) I'm planing to continue working on my home layout and also start a model railroad club in my town.

That actually sounds cool. I would love to more reading and creative pursuits but will never have the time until I retire.
I cant wait to get back to some fun hobbies ...
buiding models, telescope making, and wood strip boat building

Welcome! Sounds like you'll be able to keep your mind busy in retirement!