Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Really, what IS cash
Old 03-26-2014, 01:22 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Really, what IS cash

Hi, a real newbie here. I’ve been lurking around this sight for some time and have finally pulled the trigger on signing up and getting involved (albeit with some very basic questions.)

First off, old timers on this board should know how grateful folks like me are, in that I’m sure there is no question that hasn't already been asked over the years, and yet the forthcoming advice is always fresh and helpful. The information thus far received is priceless.

Secondly, kudo’s to all the moderators. I’m no stranger to forums in general and the discourse on this one is helpful, friendly, Non-judgmental, and enjoyable to read. So, to those in charge and to long time contributors….Great Job!

About me….think of George Clooney; add 75 lbs., less hair, 3” shorter and not as good looking.

Going forward, anything I say with respect to AA or $ in general should be taken “as for two” (i.e. My wife and myself). Mine is hers and hers is mine. Been that way for 35 yrs and counting. We are both in professional careers (Megacorp/Healthcare), but certainly not “big fish”. We live in the SF bay area. I mention that because I think there is so much of difference with respect to “net worth”, given where a person resides.

Technically, I’m not ‘early’ with respect to retirement. I’m 60, DW 57. Simply put, I’m burnt out on w**k and its focus on “process” (another story for another day). Want to pull the plug this year with DW working another 2 or 3 (kept man). Then tap retirement. While there is much more to add, I just wanted to get this brief introduction out there, and say ‘Hi’.

But before leaving, I do have a question…and, it may be more philosophical rather than technical. With respect to AA xx%/xx%/Cash. What really is cash?
I think cash is..
• Anything in the bank
• Anything in my wallet