Retiring early w/ pension to save my sanity!

drumgal

Recycles dryer sheets
Hello! I have recently announced my retirement from a County position where I have worked almost 20 years in a public library. My last day will be the first week of July this year (2017)

I will have a pension approx 75% of my present income, minus a penalty because I am not yet 60 (57 in February). I have added monthly expenses, done the math, and I will be able to do this, barely, although I will be relying on part-time work to supplement. I am a professional musician, and I was just hired to do some data entry from home for a local company.

Sounds great perhaps? I hope so, because now that all is said and done I am experiencing major anxiety! Did I mention I hate my present job? Well, I've known for a long time that I needed to leave for health and sanity reasons. I have been enduring this for years.

A few other co-workers are retiring also, with substantial savings and incomes from spouses, etc. I have no partners income to rely on and I have little savings. Still, every fiber of my being is telling me I must GO! I am experiencing fear and guilt- giving up a "perfectly good job" for a future with less money, certainly. I don't need much. My idea of a perfect vacation is tent camping! I spent a lot of money on international travel for yearly vacations. hence, not a lot of savings. I am buying a home (have refinanced to lower the monthly payment) and I am nearly debt free otherwise...My boss made some snide comments to me about retiring so early, and now others are doing so as well. Don't know why I feel so guilty? Afraid? Does sanity count for something? Anyone have some advice?

It is normal to feel anxiety over big changes. If you have done the math and have a plan for health care and inflation, you can relax. Retirement can be very cheap with very low taxes. And worst case, find a lower stress job and use the pension as a safety net.

Welcome to the forum!