Join Early Retirement Today

Semi retired at 55
Old 07-11-2018, 10:07 AM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

Semi retired at 55

It feels funny to say that. I worked for myself for my whole life. I worked in construction and not only owned my own business but did a lot of the work myself or with a partner. Hard on the lower back. At 55 I can not do the same work today. I have Deg. Arthritis in my lower back. Not enough to be on disability but enough I can not do the work any longer.

My last work was a Condo I bought at the crash in Florida. Ran it for several years and then sold it off making double my investment. Also sold our home in Florida making double our investment. We moved to Arkansas NW and with the profits we bought a home with the money made. Nothing fancy 180k home. We moved out of Florida early because of Irma. Hurricanes are horrible and disable the state. We were going to wait for 62 and move but decided it was time to go.

My wife works in the financial industry and make a bit of money but gets health care. This is more important in our age than it was when we were younger. From eye care to meds we never really went to the Dr. when younger or had health care ins.

We have saved 1.7 Million most in CDs drawing 2.5 percent and laddered in so I can reinvest them as interest hopefully goes up. Wife has a pension very small from a former company she worked for about 100 a month, I have one annuity that I can draw at 59.5 at 200 a month. 350k in Stocks IRA and the rest is in CDs we draw 2800 a month. Home paid for and not part of the 1.7. Also about 50k in Gold and sliver physical in a SD box for SHTF. I will draw half my wifes SS as working for myself I would deduct and invest into things deferred so did not pay SS in enough. Well not much I think my SS showed I would draw on my own account 250 a month. I believe half hers would be more. We are almost 56.