Slow but Steady

RetireAge50

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Hello, recently found this site via iphone app. I have enjoyed reading the stories so thought I would share ours, kinda bland but here goes.

Married in 1989, NW zero, Income zero.

I am a business analyst at a major corporation (never without a job) and my wife is a school teacher (took about 7 years off when children were young).

Consistently saved about 15% of Income to tax deferred accounts. Also saved the maximum to Roth's since they started.

2 Children, both expected to graduate from college and independent within the next 5 years.

Currently ages 46 and 45, hope to retire in the next 5 years
Current / At Retirement
Tax Deferred: $800K / $1.3M
Roth: $160K / $288K
Home: $300K / $300K
Cash: $60K / $60K
Debt: $0 / $0

Plus Pension about $15,000/yr (today's dollars) age 65 (has cola starting immediately).

AA about 80/20

Assumptions: Currently invest about $35,000 to tax deferred accounts and $11,000 to Roth each year, 7% ROI

Investment Strategy: Buy and Hold Low Cost Mutual Funds, Mixture of Growth and Balanced, Small to Large Cap, Primarily Vanguard and T.Rowe Price

Would like to travel the world during retirement staying 6-12 months at each stop. Once we tire of this will likely settle in the Seattle WA area.

Thanks for reading, comments/thoughts/suggestions welcome.

Last edited:
Welcome aboard, RetireAge50. Hope you make it and don't have to change your name. :)

How do you plan to fund retirement ages 51-59? Are tax deferred accounts accessible without penalty before 59 1/2?

Will use combination of Roth contributions (not earnings) and then get tax deferred money via IRS 72t provisions (no penalty but will pay regular taxes.).

Will also try to save after tax money between now and then but budget is tight with college expenses (paying as they go).

I am going to do all I can to not have to "change my name"

- Two Children, expected to graduate and be independent within the next 5 years