Stressed and Obsessed in Charleston, SC

02camp

Dryer sheet wannabe
A little about me and the family. I'm 53 (turn 54 in October), married with a son who starts his junior year next week in college. My DW has a state job which offers a pension after 28 years of service. She has abouth 5 years to go but we can buy years of service to shorten that to 25 years. I am a mid level manager for a Fortune 500 company and I am eligible to retire at 55. My job is fairly stable however it is very stressful. To me, my bigger problem is I have become obsessed with early retirement to the point I spend too much time running different scenarios and "what ifs" through my brain. My plan right now is to retire at 56 on my 401K worth around $700K and of course the DW's pension. I'm looking forward to learning and sharing as much as possible from this forum.

Welcome, neighbor. I think you'll find a lot of good info here as well as some like-minded folks.

As far as your plan, it may well be that once you bail on the pressure cooker job for a few years, something else may catch your eye anyway, and you can add some more to the retirement kitty.

You didn't mention the amount of the wife's pension, but running your numbers through Firecalc (and knowing with fairly good certainty what your costs will be in retirement for stuff like health insurance and the like) might also give you some ideas about the workability of your plan. Any other assets outside of the 401k? House paid off?

How about this weather, eh?

The weather is hot and rainy right now. I've already ran my numbers on Firecalc and was pleased. We plan on having no mortgage when all is said and done. I won't go without a minimum of $800K in the 401K. We currently live off $60K before taxes and do pretty much what we want to do. Her pension will be roughly $16K per year. I just spend waaaay too much time thinking about all of this. Thanks for the response.