Join Early Retirement Today

Teach to be free
Old 02-04-2015, 09:46 PM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

Teach to be free

I'm a 32 year old teacher in Oregon. I live on a small family farm with my husband and twelve year old daughter. I commute an hour to work through high desert. During the summer, I do everything from Teacher experiences to doing water and trapping gophers.
I grew up in an in-debt family hardly Living pay check to pay check on a mortgaged farm. I vowed to never live like that as an adult. I watched unnecessary spending for too many wants digging an even bigger hole. This was not just my family, but nearly everyone around me was doing the same thing. I thought there must be a better way than living to make a living then dying without really living. All my life I've been criticized for being a penny pincher (only in not so nice terms). Usually, it was in jest with serious underlying criticism. It was like walking along the blind. We're doomed to punch a time clock for others. I thought I must be wrong there is no way out. Then I met my husband who "retired" at 42 to work on what is now our Farm. We saved and paid off all bills including the mortgage. It helped that neither one of us believed in credit cards.
Here we don't need cable or internet, or other entertainment that costs. We use ancient dependable equipment and keep all costs low.
My ultimate goal is to retire early and work on the farm year round. I love teaching but the politics of it all is making teaching harder to do. It seems that our jobs have turned into passing the next government test. Farming and raising my animals are my ultimate passion. I love being away from the hustle and bustle.
I will admit that I know next to nothing about investing. I have a small amount invested in a Roth and a traditional IRA. I wonder if there is more/better options for my case? Index fund?