Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

to retire or not that is the question
Old 02-10-2011, 12:33 PM   #1
Dryer sheet wannabe

to retire or not that is the question

from England! hope to get to know a lot of you.

ok so i have trawled the web and seen the calculations etc on how and when to retire. none seem to make much clear sense to me.

im currently working in a sales job which pays very well and has huge commission potential! lucky me right

but.... i can't stand it anymore. i have been doing it for 20 years, set up and sold a business and then came back into the industry working for another firm. i have suffered with anxiety and depression over the years and most have been linked to the job i think.

im 38 years old and have managed to buy a house in the uk which is worth about £650k and has 150,000 mortgage. i also have a holiday home which i bought for cash and is worth about £1.25m. savings wise im sitting on about 800,000 of which about 400,000 is invested in funds / stocks etc.

the way i see it the holiday home can probably net me about 50-60 k a year in rental. im still young so i wouldnt stop work but just want to get out of the 8-7 daily slog.

problem is i dont know if i can do it and am worried about inflation and many years of retirement. im married but we dont have any kids yet although we will want to have 1 or 2....

any thoughts on what you all believe i should / could do? can i just quit? i have nothing lined up work wise but as i said would want to do something so as not to just fade away... but not high stress work, just something i enjoy...

thanks for reading and looking forward to all your sensible thoughts!!!!

ratraceout is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!