Join Early Retirement Today
...turning 40, getting tired
Old 06-02-2011, 10:11 AM   #1
Dryer sheet wannabe
...turning 40, getting tired

Hi all,
Been lurking for a while, decided I'd take advantage of a sick day at home (head cold, honest!) to introduce myself.

Both DH and I are turning 4-0 this month and are starting to ask some of the big questions. Well, I'm asking them, he's hanging out on the couch with a glass of syrah and streaming Netflix. I don't expect any answers, just telling you where I'm at...

I'm a manager in county government, in a job that everyone thinks enables me to read all day (hint), but which really involves huge amounts of technological change, funding uncertainty, challenging customers, public criticism, and unfilled staff positions. We are doing quite a lot with quite a little. And it's tiring. Hence, my third cold in six months.

Our savings hover around the $1mil mark (equities/cash) depending on the stock market. I'd always hoped to retire at 50, but DH is hedging his bets with 55 so that we have $$ to travel. We haven't figured my pensions into it yet, because I won't have a lot of years with any one pension (worked for two county governments, not reciprocal). We are renters in a fairly expensive city, no kids, two paid-off cars, and happy not to have responsibilities.

Seeing 15 years of work ahead of us and 21 years of work behind us is making me think about what we'll do with our time in retirement. DH and I have always been very serious and responsible about work - what will we be serious about when we're not working? And although I said I'd never be one of those workers who checked out long before retirement, I question how much investment I'll make in my profession and career with the time I have left - learning new software and standards, networking, etc. I'm a bit tired of scrambling to keep ahead of the curve.

Anyway, that's where I'm at. Thanks for listening, and thanks for the forum!

Boose is offline   Reply With Quote