Young And Ambitious In The Windy City

StockSlinger

Confused about dryer sheets
Hey all,

I've been reading the boards for a few days now and felt that I should introduce myself and join this great community! I'm 23 years old and I work as a trader in Chicago. Even though I have no immediate plans to retire, I'm very interested in general wealth-building and finance topics. I've got a great job in a great city and I'm looking to build a great base for my future.

Hey all,

I've been reading the boards for a few days now and felt that I should introduce myself and join this great community! I'm 23 years old and I work as a trader in Chicago. Even though I have no immediate plans to retire, I'm very interested in general wealth-building and finance topics. I've got a great job in a great city and I'm looking to build a great base for my future.

Welcome StockSlinger

You'll find lots of useful stuff here, along with some things that are useless except for the humor and good cheer that they bring.

Rather than post a second time on your other thread, I'll just say it here: If you really are making 150-250k per year, take the 100k that you need to decide how to invest, and invest it in a broad based stock index ETF or low cost mutual fund such as VTI (Vanguard Total Market Index) or SWPPX (Schwab S&P 500 Index). Both are very low cost. This will be your starting point for your taxable retirement account. Over time, buy into some international ETFs and bond funds. You are young, so you don't need to add too much fixed income right now, but over time, add it into the mix.

Then, save up month by month again until your lease runs out and use the new savings for the down payment on a modest home in a nice safe area.

Also, if you have not done it, make sure you participate in your employer's 401k, at least to the extent of the match if not much more than that. I think IRAs and Roths are off limits to you with the income you make.