Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
1-800 Dialaround Service
Old 05-08-2010, 07:14 PM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
TromboneAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11,201
1-800 Dialaround Service

For years we've used Kallcents for our "dialaround" long distance. We'd dial an 800 number, it would recognize our phone number from caller ID, and then we'd enter the number we want to dial. This was programmed into the phone, with pauses, and our long distance bill would be at most $3/month.

However, someone has hacked the system, so now you have to enter your PIN each time. That would be fine, but my phone doesn't allow me to program in that many keypresses (e.g. 18008788p1234p5167648772), and there's no way to chain the programmed numbers.

So, we have to switch to a different provider. Anyone got one that they use and like?

BTW, Skype works pretty well on the iPod touch, so I could use that.
__________________

__________________
Al
TromboneAl is online now   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-08-2010, 09:33 PM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 18,293
Can't you program the later codes as different entries in speed dial? In the call, you'd need to 'dial' the last code or two as different 'speed dial' numbers. I think most phones let you do this?

-ERD50
__________________

__________________
ERD50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2010, 09:38 PM   #3
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Coach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 1,127
T Al, I use Google voice for free long distance. I've been very satisfied.

It may require an invite. Feel free to PM me for one.

Coach
__________________
"Comprehensive health insurance is an idea whose time has come in America." President Richard M. Nixon, February 6, 1974
Coach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 09:02 AM   #4
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
TromboneAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11,201
Quote:
Originally Posted by ERD50 View Post
Can't you program the later codes as different entries in speed dial? In the call, you'd need to 'dial' the last code or two as different 'speed dial' numbers. I think most phones let you do this?

-ERD50
Mine doesn't. When connected the keys used for choosing speed dial entries do other things.
__________________
Al
TromboneAl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 11:30 AM   #5
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,897
Quote:
Originally Posted by ERD50 View Post
Can't you program the later codes as different entries in speed dial? In the call, you'd need to 'dial' the last code or two as different 'speed dial' numbers. I think most phones let you do this?

-ERD50
Had the same thought here. Brings back memories to the dark ages before the internet. I remember checking on the balances of my mutual fund accounts by phone. One key programmed for the mutual fund phone number, another key programmed for the fund account number and pin.

Been awhile since I've used dial around services (remember all those 10-10-### commercials?).

For my long distance, I use a combination of magicjack and tk6000 calling devices (neither totally bug free, but I'm content to not pay the phone company).
__________________
easysurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 07:04 PM   #6
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
TromboneAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11,201
Wow, thanks Coach. I just signed up for the awesomeness that is Google voice using the invitation that Coach sent me, tried a free long distance call, and left myself a voice mail message. Google voice transcribes voice mail messages and sends them to my email. Because all my contacts are stored with Google contacts, it knows all the phone numbers I might want to call.

To make a free long distance call, I go to the google voice web page, choose call and select the contact. It then calls me and connects me with (calls) the other person.

All U.S. calls are free, and calls to Sweden are only .02 cents/minute.

Here is the transcription of the voice mail message that I left myself:
Hi. This is a test of the message system for pool voice. I wanna see how well the transcription works and generally see how it works. That's it. Bye bye.

The only word it got wrong was pool instead of "google." I think I said "I want to" and not "I wanna."
__________________
Al
TromboneAl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 07:16 PM   #7
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
walkinwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Denver
Posts: 2,677
I have used Tel3advantage.com in the past with good results.
__________________
walkinwood is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 07:38 PM   #8
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
powerplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,380
I use onesuite.com and do not have to put in my pincode each time plus there is a local number available in my area. I've been pleased with the service.

Would love to get a Google Voice number and signed up to request one some time ago, but nothing yet.
__________________
powerplay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 07:55 PM   #9
Moderator
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Eee Bah Gum
Posts: 21,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by powerplay View Post
I use onesuite.com and do not have to put in my pincode each time plus there is a local number available in my area. I've been pleased with the service.

Would love to get a Google Voice number and signed up to request one some time ago, but nothing yet.
I've just requested one as well, it looks like it is pretty good.
__________________
Retired in Jan, 2010 at 55, moved to England in May 2016
Now it's adventure before dementia
Alan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 09:39 AM   #10
Full time employment: Posting here.
HawkeyeNFO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside the Beltway
Posts: 573
The easiest thing to use is Ooma. Works just like a POTS-line, but it's free as long as they stay in business, after you purchase their equipment. Google Voice is great also, except you usually need to go through the computer to make a call. If you are going to stick with Skype, there is a free service called Ring2Skype that gives you a regular phone number for free and then forwards calls to your Skype account.

My vote is for Ooma and Google Voice.
__________________

__________________
HawkeyeNFO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
6 stitches = $800 soupcxan FIRE and Money 115 09-13-2006 02:55 PM
800# Cheat Sheet - Speak to a Human Being Honkie Other topics 0 12-30-2005 12:28 AM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:45 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.