Join Early Retirement Today
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Almost Had to Send My New Computer Back to the Factory
Old 06-25-2014, 05:10 PM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
TromboneAl's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11,018
Almost Had to Send My New Computer Back to the Factory

I was almost done "working," and I'm looking forward to a relaxing afternoon reading, when the bluetooth mouse stopped working.

I did a lot of googling, battery changing, etc., with no luck.

I did an HP chat, and a tech in India named Ashrafel Islam took over my computer. It was very interesting watching him try out different things. After about an hour, and four reboots, he told me it was a hardware problem, and that I had to sent the computer in -- 10 day turnaround.

But then he tried one more thing, and it worked. There was another service that Bluetooth was dependent on, and that had to be started. Something might have happened to that weeks ago, but it wasn't until I rebooted that it failed.

So, an interesting experience, and I appreciate not having to be without for a few weeks. The remote control is certainly better than being on the phone and following directions.

TromboneAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-26-2014, 12:50 PM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6,474
Always easier to trouble shoot when "in front of" someone's computer.

Glad you got the computer fixed.

The experience is a bit jarring the first time seeing someone remotely control your computer. There's the transition from "What?" to "Cool!"

Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2014, 02:17 PM   #3
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Katsmeow's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,131
I just did have to send my computer back to the factory.

In this case, the support call with the manufacturer didn't result in them controlling my computer remotely. However, we did put them on speaker and they led DH and I through a lot of things to try to solve the problem, up to and including things like removing the video card, removing the memory, removing the optical drive, etc. (trying to isolate the problem).

I was told they almost never need to have computers shipped back since most times they can diagnose the problem and send out a part and the customer puts the part in (with instruction).

However, I fell into the "almost never" category as they determined the problem was either motherboard or CPU. (Currently using my notebook computer to post)
Katsmeow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2014, 03:51 PM   #4
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
NW-Bound's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 15,920
Remote access is how IT in megacorps has been maintaining business PCs from a distance. At a megacorp I was, there was a guy who got booted because they found he had stored porno photos on his work PC.

I have been using remote desktop to control my desktop PCs, and the home server too, from my laptop via WiFi. I can even turn them on/off remotely because they use wired LAN to get reliable 1 Gbit Ethernet.

This arrangement is good when I need to run a job on the fast quad-cores, but too lazy to go upstairs where they are located. Of course the disadvantage is using them via the small laptop screen, instead of the big desktop LCD screens. For a batch job, it is nice. I just start the job, then use my laptop to drop in on them every so often to monitor the progress.
"Old age is the most unexpected of all things that can happen to a man" -- Leo Tolstoy
NW-Bound is online now   Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Almost famous for almost a day Marquette Other topics 1 06-17-2008 09:08 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:02 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.