Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Another Day, Another Browser
Old 08-19-2013, 07:18 PM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,896
Another Day, Another Browser

Well..I'm at it again.

First IE was too slow so I went to Google Chrome.

Then Google Chrome crashes at times and for me doesn't handle Amazon Prime Videos well.

So now I'm using Maxthon Cloud Browser.

I haven't heard of this browser until today, but guess it's been around awhile.

So far so good.
__________________

__________________
Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is online now   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-19-2013, 07:46 PM   #2
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Nodak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Cavalier
Posts: 2,317
If you've never tried Firefox I would recommend it. I've used it for years and it works well.
__________________

__________________
"Don't take life so serious, son. It ain't nohow permanent." Pogo Possum (Walt Kelly)
Nodak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 08:20 PM   #3
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nodak View Post
If you've never tried Firefox I would recommend it. I've used it for years and it works well.
That might be plan D
__________________
Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 09:01 PM   #4
Full time employment: Posting here.
urn2bfree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 711
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nodak View Post
If you've never tried Firefox I would recommend it. I've used it for years and it works well.
+1
__________________
urn2bfree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 09:08 PM   #5
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
pb4uski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Vermont & Sarasota, FL
Posts: 16,458
Quote:
Originally Posted by easysurfer View Post
....Then Google Chrome crashes at times and for me doesn't handle Amazon Prime Videos well......
I use Chrome all the time - no problems with Amazon Prime videos and very rarely crashes. have you tried uninstalling and reinstalling?
__________________
If something cannot endure laughter.... it cannot endure.
Patience is the art of concealing your impatience.
Slow and steady wins the race.
pb4uski is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 10:30 PM   #6
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by pb4uski View Post
I use Chrome all the time - no problems with Amazon Prime videos and very rarely crashes. have you tried uninstalling and reinstalling?
I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling. My connection isn't the fastest. Usually, the stream would work fine for like the first 20 minutes..then the picture would freeze. I think the prob has something to do with the flash updates.

I've had Chrome unable to load other pages too.

So far, I really like Maxthon Cloud. It is nimble..and seems stable, but not a pretty as Chrome.
__________________
Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 11:03 PM   #7
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
target2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,709
How about Opera? Everyone should have 5 browsers minimum.
__________________
target2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 11:27 PM   #8
Recycles dryer sheets
Larro Darro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Altha
Posts: 161
I use Chrome 95% of the time. I like it a lot, but it can be kind of weird when it seems to know what I'm thinking. I had posted pictures of my ham and turkey sandwich on my What's for supper - Page 4 thread. I mentioned I had planned on clubs, but had ate my chicken earlier. Later I was looking at my farm on Google maps and it ask me if I wanted to know where the closest chicken sandwich shop was.
__________________
Make good money, five dollars a day.
Made anymore, I might move away.
Larro Darro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 06:09 AM   #9
Full time employment: Posting here.
Redbugdave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 959
I have been using Seamonkey all these years. It's the modern version of Netscape. Same basic internals as Firefox.
The SeaMonkey® Project
__________________
"I either want less corruption, or more chance to participate in it." Ashleigh Brilliant
Redbugdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 07:02 AM   #10
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 434
I actually just switched from Chrome to Firefox a couple weeks ago. I was tired of all of the targeted ads and wanted to use Adblock Edge which is an add on for Firefox.

So far I like it a lot.

I'm also using an extension called NoSquint which allows you to easily tailor the zoom level - my eyes are getting older and I prefer higher than 100% quite often.
__________________
Fishingmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 07:32 AM   #11
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Brett_Cameron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: South Eastern USA
Posts: 1,010
I have had problems with all of them. I used chrome for the last year. It became unstable. I removed the program and reinstalled and it works good again.

Before that I used Firefox. Worked great. Became unreliable. removed and reinstalled. Not much better. For a while there Firefox was being changed weekly.

Recently retried Firefox and it worked good. I am used to Chrome now so I will leave Firefox alone for now.
__________________
All that glitters is not gold. -G. Chaucer, W. Shakespeare
All that is gold does not glitter. -J.R.R. Tolkien
Brett_Cameron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 07:56 AM   #12
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,878
Here's a list, List of Web browsers for Windows

Try them all

They all have issues, Make sure you periodically clean temp files, history, and cache. after a while that will gum things up. Also minimize the use of toolbars, search engines and add ons that causes most of the problems. Don't run your account with admin rights. This allows sights to download and install stuff with out you knowing then your browser starts doing weird stuff.
__________________
rbmrtn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2013, 08:59 AM   #13
Full time employment: Posting here.
Redbugdave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 959
I never knew that many browsers existed! It's a big World Wide Web out there...
__________________
"I either want less corruption, or more chance to participate in it." Ashleigh Brilliant
Redbugdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 05:34 PM   #14
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 572
After Mozilla updated FireFox on my computer to the latest 23.0 version several days ago, the browser frrezes every couple of hours and crashed. The error message I got back is the plugin container stopped working. It is becoming extremely frustrating.
__________________
bondi688 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 05:57 PM   #15
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,878
Is this what you seeing https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/qu...#answer-468431

Disable the pluging causing the problem, try running firefox in safemode to isolate the issue
__________________
rbmrtn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 06:12 PM   #16
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 572
rbmartin
Thanks. I googled the internet to try to solve the problem. I saw that answer you linked to, but I don't have ghostery as a plug in, unless it also go by another name. I read somewhere that the problem of the latest version of Firefox has something to do with the Adobe Flash Player, and I cannot disable that because I need a flash player.
__________________
bondi688 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 05:23 AM   #17
Dryer sheet aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 43
+1 for firefox. Mine finally crashed last week after some errant programs downloaded to my computer and messed it up. I removed them and reinstalled FF and its working great. Never crashes like chrome & explorer.
__________________
fishnfool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 08:02 AM   #18
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by bondi688 View Post
rbmartin
Thanks. I googled the internet to try to solve the problem. I saw that answer you linked to, but I don't have ghostery as a plug in, unless it also go by another name. I read somewhere that the problem of the latest version of Firefox has something to do with the Adobe Flash Player, and I cannot disable that because I need a flash player.
I didn't mean ghostery as the specific problem but in a generic sense that you have a plugin that likely needs to be updated/reinstalled. Try running firefox in safe mode and see if the crashes continue. It should tell you which plugin is having the problem when it crashes, remove that one and try it. I have FF23.01 + flashplayer v11.8.800.94, not having any problems. The problem I have with FF is it seems to leak memory, especially if many tabs are open.

Here's another link on flash player https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/967406

They are saying updating flash to v11.8.800.94 seems to fix it. What version of flash do you have. As mentioned in the article another option is to roll FF back to 22 stable
__________________
rbmrtn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 08:09 AM   #19
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
imoldernu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Peru
Posts: 4,616
Have given in to using chrome, though I don't like the slowdown from opening 5 or 6 tabs. Checking process explorer, have seen as many as 12 instances of chrome running.
Main reason for Chrome, is that I use 5 different computers, and sync all of them. This, Chrome does very well. Do the alternate browsers all sync?

The other part that I like is the ease of switching back and forth to Drive, Mail, Images, Calendar, Finance, News etc, etc from the Google Plus Bar.
.......................................

Side note, re the post about resizing the print on the screen. I have been using Readability since the day it came out, and would be in trouble if it didn't work. I just can't imagine adapting to the different type sizes, page layouts, multi pupups, and accidental mouse triggers that come with the different website ideas of what "user friendly" means.
Does anyone else use Readability? I'd prefer to send direct links using readability, as it's so much more direct and clean.

A last comment... after experimenting with adblockers, on FireFox, Opera and IE...have settled on 3rd party "free" HostsMan...HostsMan - Free download and software reviews - CNET Download.com which keeps pages free of junk. Works with all browsers I think. Need to put icon in the System Tray.
__________________
imoldernu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 08:27 AM   #20
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by imoldernu View Post
A last comment... after experimenting with adblockers, on FireFox, Opera and IE...have settled on 3rd party "free" HostsMan...HostsMan - Free download and software reviews - CNET Download.com which keeps pages free of junk. Works with all browsers I think. Need to put icon in the System Tray.
Hostman is a gui interface for an old school method, editing the host file. It is browser independent, actually it affects any application that uses the host file for resolving DNS names. If you have multiple devices on your home LAN you can do the blocking on your router instead of each device. Host file blocking is simple and it works.
__________________

__________________
rbmrtn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:54 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.