Join Early Retirement Today

Any advice to get wife to believe in ER?
Old 08-05-2007, 11:26 AM   #1
Dryer sheet aficionado

Any advice to get wife to believe in ER?

I've been working 60 to 80 hours a week for the last 20 years and hit the wall about 2 years ago. I have been trying to convince my wife of the rewards of early semiretirement (Stolen from Bob Clyatt's book). I have maxed the 401k for 11 years, funded the 529 to cov(er the kids college, and my other investments could pay off the house in 3 to 5 years. I am now 42 and would need to work to cover living expenses until 59 1/2. But I could cut back to 20 to 30 hours per week(Work Less, Live More). I just can't get my wife to buy in to the concept. I could quit altogether if we downsized the house and invested the equity, but I think my health(mental and physical) would improve enough with a reasonalble work schedule. It would require that we budget our money(which my wife refuses to do now)and reign in our lifestyle(which is not extravagant, but we currently spend as we wish without going into debt). I have made a mindset transition from the pursuit of STUFF to the pursuit of time, and I can't get the wife to understand. Any advice or resources?
Beer man is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!