Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Any Garage Door Opener Experts?
Old 12-12-2010, 03:01 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets
tgotch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 119
Any Garage Door Opener Experts?

I had to replace my Sears Craftsman 1/2 HP garage door opener with a newer one. The one I replaced was about 12 years old, but pretty much the same style as the new one.

I have 2 (3 function) remotes from the old unit (the new opener came with 1 single function remote), and cannot get them to "learn". The old remotes are pretty much identical to the new one except the new remote has "315MHz" on the face, a black button (vs. gray) and is only 1 function.

I called Sears help line, but they are closed until Monday. Was trying to get these working today...

Are the old remote units incompatible with the new opener? I tried new batteries already...

New opener is: 139.53920DM 315 MHz
Old opener is: 139.5739SRT

New remote: 139.18190
Old remote: 139.53879
__________________

__________________
tgotch is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-12-2010, 03:07 PM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
bbbamI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dallas 'burb
Posts: 9,039
Is there a reset button on your control box? If so, reset it, then try to get the remote control to learn again.

Our garage door opener is Chamberlain, I believe.
__________________

__________________
There's no need to complicate, our time is short..
bbbamI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 03:15 PM   #3
Recycles dryer sheets
tgotch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 119
ya, I tried reset (which is hold down the "learn" button for 6 seconds.) this reset the new remote, which I reprogrammed. But did did not help the old ones...
__________________
tgotch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 03:34 PM   #4
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
bbbamI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dallas 'burb
Posts: 9,039
This is the only link I could find about your problem.

Craftsman new 315MHz Garage door remote programming with old openers - FixYa

Not much help I know.

But, good luck..
__________________
There's no need to complicate, our time is short..
bbbamI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2010, 03:41 PM   #5
Recycles dryer sheets
tgotch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 119
Thanks bbbam. I was researching found that site, and this:

After seven years I had to purchase another sears garage door opener. The old

Kind of a bummer they only give 1 remote, and they want $39.00 for an additional.
__________________
tgotch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 10:10 AM   #6
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
thefed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,203
let me know how it goes!
__________________
thefed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 11:32 AM   #7
gone traveling
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3,864
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgotch View Post
I have 2 (3 function) remotes from the old unit (the new opener came with 1 single function remote), and cannot get them to "learn".
Further proof of our declining Educational System...

We now return to our regular (garage door) programming.
__________________
Westernskies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 11:53 AM   #8
Full time employment: Posting here.
My Dream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 829
Are you saying your old remote won't work on the new garage door opener?

By the way Chamberlain makes Sears garage door openers. I believe the old openers worked on 390 MHz and the new on 315 MHz, I don't know when they switched over. If the wall remote is hard wired it will still work on the new.

I bought my additional remotes off of Ebay.
__________________
Newbie
My Dream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 12:09 PM   #9
gone traveling
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 3,851
I hired my unemployed next door neighbor to run over and open my garage door whenever I "beep" my horn.

Advantages? The door is open, my neighbor get's a tip (income).....

Works for us ...
__________________
rescueme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 11:45 PM   #10
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Telly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,448
Quote:
Originally Posted by My Dream View Post
By the way Chamberlain makes Sears garage door openers. I believe the old openers worked on 390 MHz and the new on 315 MHz, I don't know when they switched over. If the wall remote is hard wired it will still work on the new.
.
That changeover was quite a few years ago. When our old remotes went flakey and I could no longer patch them up, I had to by a new receiver board and new remotes to match, as the old remote type went obsolete due to the frequency change.

The original frequency used was near a marker beacon frequency used at airports. Out of tune remotes were being picked up by incoming planes. IIRC, the big event was a plane on final approach to LAX, that a disbelieving pilot used visual at the last moment and rejected the affected instrument approach that would have ended in disaster.
__________________
-- Telly, the D-I-Y guy --
Two fools dancing on the hands of time
Telly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 09:54 AM   #11
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 214
We have programmed our cars to operate our garage door opener so we don't need remotes. Is that not an option?
__________________
chemist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 10:53 AM   #12
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 18,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by chemist View Post
We have programmed our cars to operate our garage door opener so we don't need remotes. Is that not an option?
Most of us LBYM types don't have those fancy options in our cars

Seriously, the new car I'm looking at requires you to buy a $3,500 package to get that (Home-link I think it's called?)t, along with a bunch of other stuff I don't need/want (why do I want a hole in my roof, or a built-in GPS that will be as out-of-date as a Victrola in 6 years and not easy to replace with the latest/greatest?).

-ERD50
__________________
ERD50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 11:09 AM   #13
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
thefed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by ERD50 View Post
Most of us LBYM types don't have those fancy options in our cars

Seriously, the new car I'm looking at requires you to buy a $3,500 package to get that (Home-link I think it's called?)t, along with a bunch of other stuff I don't need/want (why do I want a hole in my roof, or a built-in GPS that will be as out-of-date as a Victrola in 6 years and not easy to replace with the latest/greatest?).

-ERD50
new suv we just got has one built into the visor, but i have no idea how it works or what it's compatible with


just buy a universal for $35 and be done with it i guesS?
__________________
thefed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 03:50 PM   #14
Recycles dryer sheets
tgotch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 119
I found a gently used on Ebay for $15 should be here by the end of the week.

My car doesn't have home-link...
__________________

__________________
tgotch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing a 30-year-old garage door Nords Other topics 25 08-28-2009 10:44 AM
Garage door replacement statsman Other topics 22 05-03-2008 02:01 AM
Using front door vs. garage tangomonster Other topics 35 11-10-2007 04:37 PM
Garage Door help saluki9 Other topics 17 10-03-2007 08:47 AM
Garage Door Replacement gwix98 Other topics 16 05-21-2006 12:33 PM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:42 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.