Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Anyone having Yahoo problems?
Old 11-07-2013, 08:15 PM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Dawg52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Central MS/Orange Beach, AL
Posts: 7,440
Anyone having Yahoo problems?

For the last few days the site has been extremely slow for me. I use it out of habit mostly and still have an email address with them. Everything is slow on their site for me. Google and GMAIL works fine. And navigating to sites like this one is plenty fast. I've run virus and malware scans but doesn't help.

Just wondered if it was me. I can convert to GMAIL only and avoid Yahoo altogether I guess.
__________________

__________________
Retired 3/31/2007@52
Full time wuss.......
Dawg52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-07-2013, 08:22 PM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 11,615
Yahoo "Groups" has turned into such a disaster with their latest "upgrade" that it would be impossible to tell if it had gotten worse. But hard to imagine that it could.
__________________

__________________
"Freedom begins when you tell Mrs. Grundy to go fly a kite." - R. Heinlein
samclem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 08:37 PM   #3
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,878
Yes, at least finance.yahoo.com seems to be slow.... uhoh! now Marissa will have appear before congress
__________________
rbmrtn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 08:49 PM   #4
Full time employment: Posting here.
CCdaCE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 887
Wouldn't load the page after logging into email a couple times in the past day or two. A couple reloads, and it worked fine each time.

http://www.isitdownrightnow.com/mail.yahoo.com.html

http://downrightnow.com/yahoomail



-CC
__________________
"There's those thinkin' more or less, less is more, but if less is more, how you keepin' score?
It means for every point you make, your level drops. Kinda like you're startin' from the top..." "Society" - Eddie Vedder
CCdaCE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 09:07 PM   #5
Administrator
W2R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 38,934
Yahoo is my home page, and it has been just as fast as ever for me. I just checked and have no problems with yahoo email either, or with yahoo finance. Maybe it is a local thing?
__________________
Already we are boldly launched upon the deep; but soon we shall be lost in its unshored, harbourless immensities.

- - H. Melville, 1851
W2R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 09:30 PM   #6
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,878
They must be doing mods. I just went back the finance page and the whole layout looks different.
__________________
rbmrtn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2013, 09:46 PM   #7
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5,594
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbmrtn View Post
They must be doing mods. I just went back the finance page and the whole layout looks different.
Yahoo, yea that stuff 'happens'.

MRG
__________________
MRG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 05:10 AM   #8
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Romney, WV
Posts: 730
For me, it's very slow, especially with their group pages.
__________________
davemartin88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2013, 07:18 AM   #9
Recycles dryer sheets
bltkmt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fairfield County, CT
Posts: 208
I use MyYahoo as my home page. The only thing that drives me nuts is that the weather module thinks I am in Jersey City, NJ quite often (I am in CT). Unfortunately, Yahoo tech support will not assist me on this.
__________________
bltkmt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 02:16 PM   #10
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Chuckanut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: West of the Mississippi
Posts: 6,337
Looks like some Yahoo id's and passwords have been compromised:

Great, Now Yahoo E-mail Addresses & Passwords Have Been Stolen €“ Consumerist
__________________
The worst decisions are usually made in times of anger and impatience.
Chuckanut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 04:23 PM   #11
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
veremchuka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: irradiated - too close to the nuclear furnace
Posts: 1,294
My home page is my Yahoo! email (I'm on it constantly) and I haven't seen any issues in the past few years.
__________________
veremchuka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 04:51 PM   #12
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,972
I had an error message a few days ago that popped up when I tried to access my email. It lasted a day and a half then it just started working suddenly and have had no problems since.
__________________
aaronc879 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 10:13 PM   #13
Recycles dryer sheets
lemming's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 415
Yahoo took its mail server down for a while when it was hacked. They suggest new passwords all around.
My crisis is that they have let the security card/address expire on their games platform and Norton blocks the site. No card games...sad.
__________________
lemming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 11:15 PM   #14
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13,288
It might be slow because today was the last day of the 'old' my.yahoo page... everybody was converted to the 'new' better one...


One of the problems that I have is that now when I open a new tab I do not get my yahoo home page, but a 'search.conduit.com' site... I do not think this is a yahoo issue, but I do wonder what happened and how I can fix it... so far, I cannot find out why it is loading this page.... any suggestions
__________________
Texas Proud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 11:26 PM   #15
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Proud View Post
It might be slow because today was the last day of the 'old' my.yahoo page... everybody was converted to the 'new' better one...


One of the problems that I have is that now when I open a new tab I do not get my yahoo home page, but a 'search.conduit.com' site... I do not think this is a yahoo issue, but I do wonder what happened and how I can fix it... so far, I cannot find out why it is loading this page.... any suggestions
conduit is essentially a browser hijack. It is not a virus so the AV software probably won't do anything with it. You have to go through manually removing it.

Be careful out there: Conduit Search spyware is annoying the Internet | Daily Slice
__________________
rbmrtn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 01:44 PM   #16
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
John Galt III's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,285
Lately in Yahoo Mail I've been getting a vertical ad banner which blocks the right side of the screen no matter what I do. Very uncool and declassee.
__________________
John Galt III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 05:27 PM   #17
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
veremchuka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: irradiated - too close to the nuclear furnace
Posts: 1,294
Just for SAG I changed my 16 character password to a new 16 character password and made all security question answers so stupid no one could guess them in 100 years!

Q: What was the name of your favorite childhood friend?

A: postmaster 328 ski pluto

as an example. I love it when Vanguard or Ally Bank asks me a security question but no one ever seems to think these are ODD replies! I guess they see this sometimes.
__________________

__________________
veremchuka is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:29 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.