Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Apple IPad
Old 11-16-2011, 09:48 AM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13,295
Apple IPad

OK, I am sure there is someone on here that has an Apple IPad....

My wife wants one... and she wants one that has 3G... but I can not find any mention if you have to buy a 3G plan from a phone company or not...

Any help Any thoughts
__________________

__________________
Texas Proud is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-16-2011, 09:54 AM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
braumeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Northern Kentucky
Posts: 8,638
I have an iPad 2 and absolutely love it. It gets far more use than I ever imagined.

If you want one of the 3G models, you can buy it straight from Apple (easier, in most cases, than from an ISP). You'll need to decide in advance whether you want an AT&T model or a Verizon model. I have AT&T and am very happy with them.

Once you have your iPad in hand, you can activate the 3G service whenever you want, for a month at a time or continuously. You do that from within the iPad software itself (go to Settings, select Cellular Data and follow the prompts, including giving them a credit card number).

If you don't want to use the 3G capability, but just stick with WiFi, that's fine. The only time I activate a month of 3G service is when I go on the road and want to use my iPad instead of bringing a laptop with me.
__________________

__________________
Pas de lieu Rhône que nous.
braumeister is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 10:16 AM   #3
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
RockyMtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Scottsdale
Posts: 1,234
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Proud View Post
OK, I am sure there is someone on here that has an Apple IPad....

My wife wants one... and she wants one that has 3G... but I can not find any mention if you have to buy a 3G plan from a phone company or not...

Any help Any thoughts
Yes you need to buy a 3G plan.
__________________
FIRE'D in July 2009 at 51...Never look back!
RockyMtn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 10:22 AM   #4
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
travelover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,908
DW has an iPad2, WiFi only, and loves it. I was skeptical, as we have a laptop and and a netbook that get little use, but she uses the iPad constantly. Any real w*rk gets done on her desktop.
__________________
Yes, I have achieved work / life balance.
travelover is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 11:26 AM   #5
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 183
A data plan is optional for iPad 3G. You activate when you want and it is month to month. AT&T has $15 for 250MB or $25 for 2GB for 30 days usage. No overage charges, if you run out of MB, the 3G stops. Kind of like prepaid cell phones.Verizon also has similar plans. The provider websites would have more info.
When you buy the ipad, you will have to choose the provider upfront, so you get either CDMA or GSM, I believe. I own original ipad 3g and it has replaced my laptop for browsing, emails, etc. Love it. I usually activate the data plan when travelling. Since it is 'unlocked', I have also been able to use it abroad with a local GSM SIM in the foreign country.
__________________
pixelville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 12:19 PM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
laurence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Diego
Posts: 5,234
Quote:
Originally Posted by pixelville View Post
A data plan is optional for iPad 3G. You activate when you want and it is month to month. AT&T has $15 for 250MB or $25 for 2GB for 30 days usage. No overage charges, if you run out of MB, the 3G stops. Kind of like prepaid cell phones.Verizon also has similar plans. The provider websites would have more info.
When you buy the ipad, you will have to choose the provider upfront, so you get either CDMA or GSM, I believe. I own original ipad 3g and it has replaced my laptop for browsing, emails, etc. Love it. I usually activate the data plan when travelling. Since it is 'unlocked', I have also been able to use it abroad with a local GSM SIM in the foreign country.
+1 you are not committed to a monthly bill. It's my plan to get the 3G version and only activate when we are on travel. Beats $10/night internet charges in hotels by a lot!
__________________
laurence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 08:31 PM   #7
Recycles dryer sheets
check6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 383
If you don't get the 3g model I believe you will not have GPS capability.
__________________
check6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 08:36 PM   #8
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,268
Not sure what you mean by GPS capability but I have a standard WiFi model and I can see where it is using MobileMe from my iPhone.
__________________
utrecht is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 08:46 PM   #9
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Ed_The_Gypsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: the City of Subdued Excitement
Posts: 5,293
Get her the iPad2. She will be delighted.
__________________
my bumpersticker:
"I am not in a hurry.
I am retired.
And I don't care how big your truck is."
Ed_The_Gypsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 08:51 PM   #10
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 11,044
Technically, wifi-only iPads do not have GPS capability. IIRC, wifi-only iPads approximate your position by locating the wifi network you are connected to.
__________________
FIREd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 08:54 PM   #11
Recycles dryer sheets
check6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 383
Quote:
Originally Posted by utrecht View Post
Not sure what you mean by GPS capability but I have a standard WiFi model and I can see where it is using MobileMe from my iPhone.
Below are notes from the Apple website. Both models have location services but only the wifi+3g model has the GPS chip. The wifi only model uses cellular towers if available.


Notes:
  1. iOS devices without a cellular connection only use Wi-Fi for Location Services (if a Wi-Fi network is available).
  2. GPS is available on iPhone and iPad Wi-Fi + 3G models.
__________________
check6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 09:55 PM   #12
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Katsmeow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,400
I have an ipad that has 3G but I don't currently have 3G turned on. You are not locked into a plan and can turn it on or off as needed. I have an iphone and do have personal hotspot on it so when I'm not in a Wifi network if I want to use 3G I just network the ipad to my iphone through personal hotspot. If I was going to be somewhere where there was no Wifi I would probably turn on 3G for the duration of the trip but that doesn't come up often. I like having the 3G capability even if I don't use it that often.
__________________
Katsmeow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 10:01 PM   #13
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Rambler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,250
If you travel, get the 3G. $25 bucks a month for 2gb. No contract. Turn on the 3G when you need it. If you find after a month that you don't need it, just stop the service until you need it again.

I have the 3G. I love it. I started using the $15 250mb service, but found that (when I travel to the States) I need more an that. I travel often, so I leave mine on, but I could easily turn it off.

The iPad gets more use than my personal PC, although there are things it does not do as well as a PC (or a Mac). I have the original. Will probably upgrade when the iPad 3 comes out.

R
__________________
Find Joy in the Journey...
Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 07:52 AM   #14
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
DFW_M5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,982
Quote:
Originally Posted by travelover View Post
DW has an iPad2, WiFi only, and loves it. I was skeptical, as we have a laptop and and a netbook that get little use, but she uses the iPad constantly. Any real w*rk gets done on her desktop.
Dittoe with my DW.
__________________
DFW_M5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 04:06 PM   #15
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Chuckanut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: West of the Mississippi
Posts: 6,337
Here is a great article on things our iPad can do that most of us don't realize. I do not believe it is behind a subscription wall, but if it is, you can find this in the 8/21/12 WSJ at many libraries.

Ten Tips and Tricks Every iPhone and iPad User Should Know - WSJ.com
__________________
The worst decisions are usually made in times of anger and impatience.
Chuckanut is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 04:27 PM   #16
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Midpack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 11,983
I never would have bought one (I'm too cheap), but I got an iPad2 as a gift. But I've been thrilled beyond all expectations with it, and I use it way more than my WinPC now. If something happened to mine, I would indeed replace it despite the cost.

The current model iPad is 4G LTE I believe, not 3G. Mine is wi-fi only which has been fine for me, not hard to find free wifi even in most hotels (I haven't seen a hotel that charged?). But having 4G LTE/3G (a $130 premium) and enabling it only as needed is an attractive option, I wouldn't need/want on contract commitment. I suspect you and DW will love it...
__________________
No one agrees with other people's opinions; they merely agree with their own opinions -- expressed by somebody else. Sydney Tremayne
Retired Jun 2011 at age 57

Target AA: 60% equity funds / 35% bond funds / 5% cash
Target WR: Approx 2.5% Approx 20% SI (secure income, SS only)
Midpack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 04:49 PM   #17
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
steelyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Triangle
Posts: 3,218
Great info on this thread I have wondered about (I do not currently have an iPad). How do you (de)activate 3G? Through AT&T's website? If you have it activated and do not deactivate, do they automatically keep billing you?
__________________

steelyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 05:01 PM   #18
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 11,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by steelyman View Post
Great info on this thread I have wondered about (I do not currently have an iPad). How do you (de)activate 3G? Through AT&T's website? If you have it activated and do not deactivate, do they automatically keep billing you?
You turn on/off the 3G data plan directly on your iPad (no need to go through AT&T). The plan renews automatically until you decide to cancel.
__________________
FIREd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 05:03 PM   #19
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
steelyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Triangle
Posts: 3,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by FIREd View Post
You turn on/off the 3G data plan directly on your iPad (no need to go through AT&T). The plan renews automatically until you decide to cancel.
Thanks - that works for me . I will probably shell out for one when the next model comes out - I have used one (a friend's) while visiting out of state earlier this year and loved it.
__________________

steelyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 05:14 PM   #20
Administrator
W2R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 38,950
My iPad is wi-fi only, and this is perfect for me since I am such a homebody. I can always use my mini-iPad (= iPhone) during the occasional moments when I am away from home and have the time to get online.

I use my Dell Windows 7 hotter-than-greased-lightning laptop more than my iPad, but the iPad is a great toy and very entertaining.

Ah, new technology! How could we survive without it.
__________________

__________________
Already we are boldly launched upon the deep; but soon we shall be lost in its unshored, harbourless immensities.

- - H. Melville, 1851
W2R is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple? yakers Stock Picking and Market Strategy 6 08-25-2011 10:50 AM
Fake Apple store in China tmm99 Other topics 2 07-25-2011 02:49 PM
iPad 2 help- how to use home network bizlady Other topics 8 07-08-2011 07:48 PM
CSCO, Anyone Buying James5v Stock Picking and Market Strategy 13 06-29-2011 08:35 PM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:36 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.