Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Bad Wifi or Bad Router?
Old 04-11-2017, 02:39 PM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 9,754
Bad Wifi or Bad Router?

For two nights in a row, I woke up to my wireless connection not working and in order to recover, I had to turn off the router and the cable modem, then turn back on.

This just started happening and the oddity is once rebooted, the wifi stays without a single drop off until the next morning when goes not available until turning off and on.

During the time when the wireless is offline, the wired internet on the computer still works fine.

I shall see tonight if the same think happens or not when I get up tomorrow.

Just wondering if others have had similar situations and what was the culprit?
__________________

__________________
Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-11-2017, 02:42 PM   #2
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 3,006
How old is your equipment?
__________________

COcheesehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 03:00 PM   #3
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 9,754
Quote:
Originally Posted by COcheesehead View Post
How old is your equipment?

Bought in 2013.
__________________
Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 03:10 PM   #4
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 3,006
That would be my first guess. We had our router go after about 3 years.
COcheesehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 03:17 PM   #5
Administrator
MichaelB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: lumpen slums of cyberspace
Posts: 30,045
Is the firmware current?
MichaelB is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 04:04 PM   #6
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 9,754
Quote:
Originally Posted by COcheesehead View Post
That would be my first guess. We had our router go after about 3 years.
Did your router have the same symptoms?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelB View Post
Is the firmware current?
Yes, checked and most recent firmware.

-----
I'm going to approach this as 1 time is an oddity. 2 times an coincidence. 3 times a pattern and 4 a problem. I still have 2 more times before getting more involved to roll up my sleeves .
__________________
Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 04:15 PM   #7
Administrator
MichaelB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: lumpen slums of cyberspace
Posts: 30,045
I've had a number of issues with internet availability, including one similar to yours, and troubleshooting is difficult. First thing I would disconnect all the cables, shut down all the components, and then reconnect and reboot the entire system. Then wait to see if the same issue repeats.
MichaelB is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 04:27 PM   #8
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,155
Ping is your friend. Figure the IP addresses of your various devices and use ping either from the router or the hard-wired computer.

From what you describe though, it sounds like it's an issue with your wifi. You could try a different band (2.4 vs 5Ghz) and see if that makes a difference. It'd also be helpful to see if another wifi device is having the same problem.

These issues can be a pain to track down. I'm going through something similar in my house, but I suspect it's the internet provider. My ping times significantly increase when I upload a file to google drive. I don't upload often, so it's a minor inconvenience, but when I get more time I need call my ISP and have them investigate.

Good luck!
__________________
Eat, Drink and Be Merry.
tulak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 04:39 PM   #9
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 9,754
Quote:
Originally Posted by tulak View Post
Ping is your friend. Figure the IP addresses of your various devices and use ping either from the router or the hard-wired computer.

From what you describe though, it sounds like it's an issue with your wifi. You could try a different band (2.4 vs 5Ghz) and see if that makes a difference. It'd also be helpful to see if another wifi device is having the same problem.

These issues can be a pain to track down. I'm going through something similar in my house, but I suspect it's the internet provider. My ping times significantly increase when I upload a file to google drive. I don't upload often, so it's a minor inconvenience, but when I get more time I need call my ISP and have them investigate.

Good luck!
A good suggestion about the pinging. Haven't tried yet as hoping issue won't happen tomorrow.

Both my phone and laptop weren't working when the wifi was off. As mentioned before, the hardwired desktop was up fine.
__________________
Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 04:44 PM   #10
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,838
my neighbor is having trouble constantly the repair truck lives there , their college daughter couldn't connect to their internet service, since we live so close she is able to pick up our wireless, they called to ask us our code so she could log on, and study, we said sure, if by any chance i get wiped out financially and hacked and all other happy things ill be back in here crying to you guys,
Blue Collar Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 04:59 PM   #11
Moderator Emeritus
braumeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Flyover country
Posts: 13,385
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue Collar Guy View Post
my neighbor is having trouble constantly the repair truck lives there , their college daughter couldn't connect to their internet service, since we live so close she is able to pick up our wireless, they called to ask us our code so she could log on, and study, we said sure, if by any chance i get wiped out financially and hacked and all other happy things ill be back in here crying to you guys,
I don't know what kind of system you have, but my wifi router (Apple Time Capsule) lets me set up a secondary wifi network that has no connection with the one I use. Occasionally we have a guest spend a night or two with us, and I give them the secondary network name and password so they can do their internet thing. This has worked well for us for a number of years. You should look into it to see if you can do the same.
braumeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 06:14 PM   #12
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kerrville,Tx
Posts: 3,164
Is the wifi access point part of the router or seperate. Since the wired connections still work it sounds like the wireless part. Can you see your network, when you browse available wireless networks?
meierlde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 06:19 PM   #13
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Houston
Posts: 654
Sounds like your router is going bad. When you turn it off and reboot, it cools and then works with it comes back on. On my router that was going back, I could even put a fan blowing across it to keep it cool and then it would run better for awhile longer. I could also test the speed using speedtest.net. When cool, I could get fast speeds but as it warmed up, it slowed down and stopped workng. I understand from talking to others that they just break down from the 24 hr operating heat on it's components.
Whisper66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 06:51 PM   #14
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 9,754
Quote:
Originally Posted by meierlde View Post
Is the wifi access point part of the router or seperate. Since the wired connections still work it sounds like the wireless part. Can you see your network, when you browse available wireless networks?
Not sure if this is the answer to your question, but my set up is cable modem, then the modem connects to external router.

Yes, shows up as a wireless network.
__________________
Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 06:55 PM   #15
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 9,754
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whisper66 View Post
Sounds like your router is going bad. When you turn it off and reboot, it cools and then works with it comes back on. On my router that was going back, I could even put a fan blowing across it to keep it cool and then it would run better for awhile longer. I could also test the speed using speedtest.net. When cool, I could get fast speeds but as it warmed up, it slowed down and stopped workng. I understand from talking to others that they just break down from the 24 hr operating heat on it's components.
Interesting about the router cooling then working, but makes sense.

I had a similar thing happen with an old car. Car would stall on me. After cooling would start again. Took a long time for mechanics to find out cause. Ended up something with the catalytic converter heating up causing a stall. Then cooling and starting up okay. Kind of digressing here.... .
__________________
Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2017, 08:04 PM   #16
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kerrville,Tx
Posts: 3,164
Quote:
Originally Posted by easysurfer View Post
Not sure if this is the answer to your question, but my set up is cable modem, then the modem connects to external router.

Yes, shows up as a wireless network.
I assume the router then does the wireless link. In that case it would be the router, since most routers also do the wifi. Then the router/wifi access point is likley the culprit, although I would check with a second wifi device just to be sure.
meierlde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2017, 05:42 AM   #17
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Dash man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Limerick
Posts: 2,386
Some router brands work better with particular modems and provides. My Apple Wifi router works great with Comcast, but in our Florida condo it was worthless with their private fiber optic network. I bought the recommended router for the fiber optic system and it's worked flawlessly since then.
Dash man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2017, 05:44 AM   #18
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,927
My experience is that after 3-4 years it's time for a new set up.
__________________
Living well is the best revenge!
Retired @ 52 in 2005
marko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2017, 06:20 AM   #19
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 9,754
Just a quick update. Woke up today, the wifi was up and running. I'll just keep an eye on but not do the pinging or replacing for now unless the wifi drop starts happening again on a regular basis.

Thanks for all the suggestions.
__________________
Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2017, 07:51 AM   #20
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Houston
Posts: 654
Quote:
Originally Posted by easysurfer View Post
Just a quick update. Woke up today, the wifi was up and running.
Run www.Speedtest.net when you first turn it on. Record the speed results. Redo the test periodically and see if the values change dramatically. For example, mine went from 20-25 when my router was cool / just restarted to less than 5 when it was hot. Changed my router out and speed stayed at 20-25.

Good luck.
__________________

Whisper66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Android WiFi Experts? Wifi Auto Switches to Xfinity marko Other topics 5 02-11-2015 08:49 AM
best wireless router? bright eyed Other topics 19 02-21-2007 10:38 AM
Vonage - Router Question cube_rat Other topics 3 04-01-2006 01:09 PM
Need help with router installation... Gonzo Other topics 30 03-25-2006 03:19 PM
Nice deal on a decent 802.11g 54Mb/s router - ~$15 bucks cute fuzzy bunny Other topics 20 02-21-2006 07:52 PM

» Quick Links

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:40 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×