Join Early Retirement Today

Buying the Farm - Online Property Auction
Old 10-24-2012, 12:03 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

Buying the Farm - Online Property Auction

We are seriously considering bidding on some property that is being sold to settle an estate. The property sale is being handled as an online auction.

Aside from Ebay, I have no experience with this sort of thing and I'm looking for advice on how to increase our chances of winning while avoiding over spending.

The auction will end at 2:00 PM on the 31st, except that any bid received will extend the deadline by 5 minutes.

The terms of the auction are cash sale (no contingencies for financing, etc). Settlement will be within 30 days.

There has been some bidding already, but I expect the serious bidding to take place on the 31st. The current bid is $115K but I wouldn't be surprised to see a winning bid of $200K plus.

Does anyone have experience with an online real estate auction and what advice would you give?
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-24-2012, 01:02 PM   #2