Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Computer Issue
Old 05-24-2011, 08:47 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 197
Computer Issue

In the last week or so, my computer has started to mess up. Whenever I use Firefox or Internet Explorer, the computer will freeze every 5 minutes or for 1-2 minutes at a time. It is very annoying.

Does anyone know what might be causing this and how to fix it? I know the best fix might be a complete system restoration but was hoping to avoid this if possible. My problems coincided with warning about my laptop battery going bad so I didn't know if the two issues might be related.

Thanks in advance for the help.
__________________

__________________
RedHawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-24-2011, 09:17 PM   #2
Administrator
W2R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 38,905
How much memory does your computer have? Someone I know has a machine with just 512 Mb and it tends to choke like that when using Internet Explorer, too.

It's a little better when he uses Google Chrome; if memory is the problem then that might be worth trying.
__________________

__________________
Already we are boldly launched upon the deep; but soon we shall be lost in its unshored, harbourless immensities.

- - H. Melville, 1851
W2R is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 09:24 PM   #3
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 567
Only in those two programs?

Which operating system?

How old is the computer?

It could be your system is just clogged and a restore will fix it. But, it could also be due to increased disk fragmentation (unlikely with pauses that big), failing sectors on your hard drive (especially if they're in the area where your operating system's page file lives), or memory that's going bad.
__________________
Webzter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 09:31 PM   #4
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by Webzter View Post
Only in those two programs?

Which operating system?

How old is the computer?

It could be your system is just clogged and a restore will fix it. But, it could also be due to increased disk fragmentation (unlikely with pauses that big), failing sectors on your hard drive (especially if they're in the area where your operating system's page file lives), or memory that's going bad.

I don't really use my computer for much other than an internet connection but it has been freezing with Yahoo Messenger as well. The computer is an HP Pavillion and its just under 2 years old. I think it has a couple gigs of memory but not sure exactly how much.
__________________
RedHawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 09:53 PM   #5
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 567
My guess would be, maybe, bad memory. It's been a long time since I've had to diagnose bad mem, but maybe try here: How to detect RAM problems to stabilize Vista | ZDNet... the instructions are at the bottom of the article.

Note, I just checked and, at least on my version of Windows 7, the steps will work on Windows 7 as well.

edited to add: I suppose maybe memory could have been affected by a failing battery. A faulty power supply has cost me some memory in the past.
__________________
Webzter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 09:58 PM   #6
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 18,282
Try clearing the cache. I've seen a couple nasty problems get cured by doing this. Probably was some corrupt file causing things to get hung up. Not much to lose by trying it (just recent history and stuff), zero cost, and easy.


-ERD50
__________________
ERD50 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 10:36 PM   #7
Moderator
MBAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4,158
Or you may have a malware infestation :-(

Malwarebytes is a good eradicator.

Good luck.
__________________
"One of the funny things about the stock market is that every time one person buys, another sells, and both think they are astute." William Feather
----------------------------------
ER'd Oct. 2010 at 53. Life is good.
MBAustin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 10:51 PM   #8
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
GregLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Waimanalo, HI
Posts: 1,881
Try stopping and turning off your computer, then start it up again (if you haven't done that). The idea here is to mend a possible problem caused by memory being designated as in use even though it is not actually being made use of. It's pretty common. If that's it, just getting a fresh start may fix things.
__________________
Greg (retired in 2010 at age 68, state pension)
GregLee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 11:52 PM   #9
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 408
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedHawk View Post
In the last week or so, my computer has started to mess up. Whenever I use Firefox or Internet Explorer, the computer will freeze every 5 minutes or for 1-2 minutes at a time. It is very annoying.

Does anyone know what might be causing this and how to fix it? I know the best fix might be a complete system restoration but was hoping to avoid this if possible. My problems coincided with warning about my laptop battery going bad so I didn't know if the two issues might be related.

Thanks in advance for the help.
This works for me. keep it simple. Do the easy thing first.

1. Do a simple restore. You mention the problem started last week.
Restore back, about 2 weeks. Use the Hp, built in restore software.

2. If that does not work. go to google.
Type in your computer symptoms. You will find others with the same
problem.
You will find many suggestions. Pick the simplist one first.

Again, do a simple restore. (go back a couple of weeks). You don't have to erase everything. (that's the last resort).
__________________
wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 07:44 AM   #10
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
FIRE'd@51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,316
I have a similar problem with the cursor occasionally freezing up. I have found that putting the computer to sleep and waking it up again (which I can do with the sleep button) frees up the cursor. This is not a permanent fix, but it avoids having to reboot the computer at an inconvenient time.
__________________
I'd rather be governed by the first one hundred names in the telephone book than the Harvard faculty - William F. Buckley
FIRE'd@51 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 06:37 PM   #11
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 197
Well may be the solution to my problem was just posting on this forum. The problem is gone today. Oddly enough today was the first time in about 2 weeks that I didn't have a warning about my battery so may be the issue is related to the failing battery.
__________________
RedHawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 07:46 PM   #12
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedHawk View Post
Well may be the solution to my problem was just posting on this forum. The problem is gone today. Oddly enough today was the first time in about 2 weeks that I didn't have a warning about my battery so may be the issue is related to the failing battery.
I used my telekineses powers to remotely fix and defrag your laptop. I also remotely debited your account for my services. No need to thank me, you already did.
__________________
Webzter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 09:19 PM   #13
Recycles dryer sheets
SteveL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 380
There are a number of issues between updates to windows, and corresponding updates to Adobe Flash. Unlike other programs many times Flash does not advise you that an update is available/required. Given that the issue affects both Explorer and Firefox, I suspect that this may be a cause. Try to go to adobe flash website and download the latest version. You have to have browsers off in order to complete the installation.
__________________
Retired -- 2001
SteveL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 01:10 AM   #14
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3,869
One thing I did recently which has helped the load time for my web browser was to carefully note the names of the websites a web page accesses often to load all the graphics, pictures, ads, and video feeds. I went into Tools/Internet Options/Security/Restricted Sites and added a few of them to the list and voila - the load times sped up quite a bit.

But I agree that a full or nearly full hard drive as well as insufficient RAM can slow things down. In the case of a hard drive, mine was not only nearly full but had various errors on it according to a manufacturer's diagnostic program. When I replaced the 9-year-old, ailing HD last September with a newer one which had 100 GB more memory (only cost me $50), all my problems went away, including some I did not know were caused by the ailing HD.
__________________

__________________
Retired in late 2008 at age 45. Cashed in company stock, bought a lot of shares in a big bond fund and am living nicely off its dividends. IRA, SS, and a pension await me at age 60 and later. No kids, no debts.

"I want my money working for me instead of me working for my money!"
scrabbler1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What would you do? (warrantee issue) JayOh Other topics 25 07-09-2008 09:14 PM
I think this is a blockbuster issue you might also . newguy88 Health and Early Retirement 39 02-27-2008 01:17 PM
Healthcare is the issue for me Cubitt Hi, I am... 4 12-19-2007 08:29 PM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:09 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.