Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Computer locks up when using IE, not Google Chrome
Old 05-21-2016, 01:53 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 407
Computer locks up when using IE, not Google Chrome

Anyone have this problem, and a solution. Recently, when using Internet Explorer as browser, computer would lock up. Ctrl-alt-delete no effect.
Cursor would not move. Had to hold down the on/off button to shut the
computer down.

Googled this problem, Seems very common. But could not find any solution.

If you change to a different browser, I changed to Google Chrome, everything
works fine, and even faster.

Just curious, anyone experience the same issue, and found a solution.
__________________

__________________
wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-21-2016, 01:59 PM   #2
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
ExFlyBoy5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,977
Easy solution....don't use IE. I think the only folks still using IE are using it to check their AOL email.

Sent via mobile device. Please excuse any grammatical errors.
__________________

__________________
Founder and Head Lounger @ The Life of Leisure Institute
Retired in 2014 at the Ripe Age of 40.
ExFlyBoy5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2016, 02:12 PM   #3
Administrator
W2R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 38,836
Never had the slightest problem with MSIE, but then I am thinking it may be a bit resource hungry and my laptop is fairly high end. I used to have Chrome installed too, but just don't see the point.
__________________
Already we are boldly launched upon the deep; but soon we shall be lost in its unshored, harbourless immensities.

- - H. Melville, 1851
W2R is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2016, 02:13 PM   #4
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
John Galt III's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,285
Seriously, IE is just a horror show. I used to use it but moved to Firefox. No more problems.
__________________
John Galt III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2016, 04:33 PM   #5
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
zinger1457's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,452
I would disable all IE add-ons and see how it works. If it seems to be working better then only enable the add-ons as needed.
__________________
zinger1457 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2016, 04:50 PM   #6
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,037
Just restored my laptop to it's original factory state with Windows Vista. Tried to use IE to download Chrome browser but IE kept reporting a page error and wouldn't work with Google site. Had to download Firefox, install, download Chrome, install, delete Firefox.

As far as I'm concerned, IE is crapware.
__________________
RE2Boys is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2016, 05:01 PM   #7
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 407
Thanks for the inputs. Agree, IE is bad. Just wondered why this is happening, and why
such a large corporation as Microsoft, denies the problem, and does not fix it.

Also, had problems downloading bank statements when on IE. (started happening for past few months.)
Had to go to Google Chrome, to download bank statements. No issues.
__________________
wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2016, 05:16 PM   #8
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,654
are you running IE or Edge? Have you cleared out the browsing history, cookies, etc? I typically run chrome as others do. But often these tools need a bunch of crap cleared out.
__________________
bingybear is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2016, 06:12 PM   #9
Recycles dryer sheets
littleb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 156
I also had problems with IE mainly in the past year. Keep freezing up on different sites. I now use Chrome on everything except a few programs (tied to work) that will only work in IE.
__________________
littleb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2016, 06:58 PM   #10
Administrator
W2R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 38,836
Quote:
Originally Posted by bingybear View Post
are you running IE or Edge? Have you cleared out the browsing history, cookies, etc?
Good point. I have zero trouble with IE, but then I do habitually run CCleaner once a week to clear out all of the temporary files and so on. Also it is a good idea to run Malwarebytes right afterwards.
__________________
Already we are boldly launched upon the deep; but soon we shall be lost in its unshored, harbourless immensities.

- - H. Melville, 1851
W2R is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2016, 08:01 PM   #11
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,049
IE has only one purpose... to download another browser.
__________________
jim584672 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2016, 10:10 PM   #12
Administrator
W2R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 38,836
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim584672 View Post
IE has only one purpose FOR ME... to download another browser.
There, FIFY.
__________________
Already we are boldly launched upon the deep; but soon we shall be lost in its unshored, harbourless immensities.

- - H. Melville, 1851
W2R is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2016, 08:41 AM   #13
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,885
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim584672 View Post
IE has only one purpose... to download another browser.
__________________
Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2016, 03:11 PM   #14
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 18,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim584672 View Post
IE has only one purpose... to download another browser.
Quote:
Originally Posted by easysurfer View Post
Double

A while back, my Mom was having some start-up lock up on her Safari browser. I logged in through Teamviewer to help. No easy solution, but I thought I had installed FireFox as an alternate, but nope. So I thought, "I'll just download FireFox, ..... ummmm, hmmmm, I guess not?"

A bit of googling on my end, and I found a site that allowed an ftp download of FireFox, so I opened the terminal on her computer through Teamviewer, and got it installed.

After all that, I found just clearing the offending site that was throwing up an error from the history and restarting Safari cleared it up.

Moral of the story, always have a back up browser on your system.

-ERD50
__________________
ERD50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2016, 04:27 PM   #15
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Tadpole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,169
ERD50's moral is my experience also. I have been having more and more and more and ... problems using IE. Right now I am in Firefox. I will use IE when and if I have a good reason or if and when IE problems resolve themselves. I find resolving very unlikely in view of W10.
__________________
Tadpole is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2016, 05:52 PM   #16
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Florence, AL/Helen, GA
Posts: 2,091
I long ago moved to Foxfire and completely avoid Explorer. It seems to work smoother on my computers and notebooks.

I do have Microsoft 10 installed on my newest computers, but I continue to use the old formats--avoiding the M/S 10 pages completely.
__________________

__________________
Bamaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hello Google Chrome!!! Goodbye MS In-control FIRE and Money 55 09-06-2014 09:23 PM
WinVista PC locks/freezes periodically - why? Midpack Other topics 40 01-14-2013 10:08 AM
Google Chrome Browser / Firecalc Rustward FIRECalc support 6 04-01-2011 09:00 AM
Google Chrome - Google's new web browser Marquette Other topics 22 09-04-2008 03:24 PM
Bump Locks? Outtahere Other topics 3 02-06-2007 09:27 AM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:10 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.