Consultant Opportunity: Seeking advice

Seeking Hobbes

Recycles dryer sheets
Well, after just over a year of blissful retirement... my old account has approached me directly to do some consulting on a project for them.

I still need to find out more regarding the project, but since I have no experience as an independent consultant... I thought I'd ask for some general advice from the forum on the pro's/con's of doing this kind of work.

This is what I've come up with so far...

Pro's
- The project could be interesting.
- I might have the opportunity to work with some old friends.

Cons
- I'm not sure how well I would adjust to a Schedule/Boss after being free for a year.
- The project would kill my summer.
- I might have to work for/with people I didn't like when I WAS there.

Neutral
- Don't really need the work or money.
- Not sure how to place a value on my service.
- Not sure if a contract is involved for work/performance... or how to safeguard my interests if there is.
- Not sure how this would effect my overall tax situation. (I fear that it may be more trouble than it's worth - after taxes.)

Any thoughts:confused:

If retirement is blissful why are you considering working?

Just some quick thoughts:

Tax question - could you arrive at a total $ amount for consultation rather than hourly? $ rather than time. Decide at what amount you would say yes.

Would you be able to some/most of the effort from home?

Know all the details before deciding.

If it were me, I would insist on a contract to make clear liability and other expectations/obligations of each party; would expect to be paid at typical consulting rates for my particular specialty (probably something like $130-$150/hr for me); and make sure you understand the tax implications for you as an independent contractor (eg FICA, SS impact, etc).

You know?!?... YOU'RE RIGHT!!!

I just needed to write it down - and have someone else point out the obvious.