Critters in engine compartment

73ss454

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I been having guests in my engine compartment for the last few weeks. Seems they have taken up residency on the battery and top of the engine.

I've tried putting pepper which they seem to like and I even taped off the areas but I think they like sleeping on a stick surface.

Any ideas to get rid of these pests?

Hood open so they feel insecure. Rats, bunnies and squirrels down in the desert - and they love the vacuum lines and hoses!

I have no idea.
No droppings to clue you in? :)

I was tidying up our garage the other day and I noticed that one of the boxes I looked in had some chewed up papers and mouse droppings ALL OVER the bottom of the box. No, not chiggers or scorpions -- mice. Their scat made it obvious.

I thought I remember seeing one scurry across the floor a few weeks ago...

Yeah, some droppings and twigs and things but I'm no droppings expert. I do suspect my neighbor may be responsible since his wife threw him out. (heh)

This is a common problem with tractors. Some of the guys swear by dryer sheets. My experience is that the mice like 'em.

Try some moth balls. If nothing else it will eliminate moths. Not to mention frightening the male moths regarding losing theirs.

get a cat. I had issues with field mice in my garage during the winter. Suckers would chew wires and insulation and make nests. Gets expensive if they chew thru some wires and short circuit stuff.

Try some moth balls. If nothing else it will eliminate moths. Not to mention frightening the male moths regarding losing theirs.
I second the moth balls idea with a twist - buy a bulk package of cheap ladies' knee-high stockings and use them as pouches for the moth balls. Fill only with enough mothballs so they lay flat where you want to place them. Tie off the top in a knot and secure to the air filter cover or hang from a non-moving, non-heating engine part with strong cotton string.