Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Dealing with signal loss with a outdoor TV antenna...
Old 04-29-2008, 05:52 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
maddythebeagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,450
Dealing with signal loss with a outdoor TV antenna...

I have a roof mounted TV antenna that gets great signal on the 2 tvs directly below it (one in living room and 1 in basement, but can only get 1/2 of the stations in the 2 bedroom tvs...I am aware of the signal loss that I am getting in the 2 bedrooms after a long run and being split, Anybody know if any of these amplifier products work? or any other quick fix..."rabbit ears" dont work very well where I am so maybe I need to put up another outdoor antenna for the 2 bedroom tvs...
__________________

__________________
- Hurry! to the cliffs of insanity!
maddythebeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-29-2008, 06:59 PM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
youbet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 9,965
There's no quick fix, I'm sorry to say....... Unless you did something wrong or there is a fault in the feedline between the living room and bedrooms (since you mentioned the living room and basement tv's are working great and the bedroom tv's aren't.)

You didn't give any details on the feedline you're using or the split configuration, so I can only respond with general statements.

1. Yes, distribution amplifiers do work. They are more effective mounted at the antenna than in the house.

2. Whether you are using balanced twin lead or unbalanced coaxial feedline, use quality stuff. Install connectors with care. Keep feedline runs as short as possible. If there is extra line, cut it off, don't coil it.

3. If installing a second antenna for the bedroom tv's is feasible, I'd recommend that over using an amplifier.
__________________

__________________
"I wasn't born blue blood. I was born blue-collar." John Wort Hannam
youbet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2008, 08:10 PM   #3
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
cute fuzzy bunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Losing my whump
Posts: 22,697
I've used amplified splitters way back when with good success. You might want to try one with an adjustable amp...should have a knob on it. Sometimes the gain is a little excessive and gives you some noise, backing off a few db makes it smooth out.

Or you could build one of those home-made super high def antennas I pointed to a few weeks back. You DID get a bunch of free digital converter boxes, didnt you?
__________________
Be fearful when others are greedy, and greedy when others are fearful. Just another form of "buy low, sell high" for those who have trouble with things. This rule is not universal. Do not buy a 1973 Pinto because everyone else is afraid of it.
cute fuzzy bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2008, 09:23 PM   #4
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
maddythebeagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,450
Thanks guys...I cant say to the quality of the cable......Yeah, I probably will look at one of those coat hanger antennas...that should save me some money...
__________________
- Hurry! to the cliffs of insanity!
maddythebeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Mine did terrible
Old 04-29-2008, 09:38 PM   #5
Recycles dryer sheets
aenlighten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 275
Mine did terrible

until I noticed the weather had completely deteriorated it and I replaced it.
__________________
aenlighten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2008, 09:12 AM   #6
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
travelover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,879
may not be relevant for you, but after I added the digital converter, I get much better reception from my roof antenna / analog TV setup.
__________________
Yes, I have achieved work / life balance.
travelover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2008, 09:18 AM   #7
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
maddythebeagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,450
Quote:
Originally Posted by travelover View Post
may not be relevant for you, but after I added the digital converter, I get much better reception from my roof antenna / analog TV setup.
Nope, that's not it...it is all digital now... I will try doing a direct run to the upstairs tv and test the cable and probably could put a smaller additional antenna on the exisiting antenna mast also to connect the bedroom tvs...I have not seen the adjustable amplifiers...maybe radio shack...
__________________
- Hurry! to the cliffs of insanity!
maddythebeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2008, 09:26 AM   #8
Moderator
ziggy29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 15,612
How far are you from the transmitters? If you used an amplifier or a preamp -- especially before 2/17/2009 -- it could allow very close, strong analog signals to overpower more distant or less powerful signals. Most likely if some of the lines have strong reception, there is something going on with either the length of the line and/or the splitters reducing the strength of the signal coming in. If you're close to the transmitters, either a second, separate antenna or some amplifier to the bedroom lines might work (keeping in mind that an amplifier also amplifies line noise).

If you're far enough away from the transmitters (i.e. more than about 25 miles, plus or minus), a preamp installed at the antenna might be a good option (the Channel Master 7777 is one of the best). That could eliminate enough noise that the remaining signal to the bedrooms can be understood by the tuner. If you're in the fringe (say 40-50 miles or more away), most likely there's a fair amount of noise on the signal and using an amplifier "downstream" rather than a preamp will amplify a lot of noise.
__________________
"Hey, for every ten dollars, that's another hour that I have to be in the work place. That's an hour of my life. And my life is a very finite thing. I have only 'x' number of hours left before I'm dead. So how do I want to use these hours of my life? Do I want to use them just spending it on more crap and more stuff, or do I want to start getting a handle on it and using my life more intelligently?" -- Joe Dominguez (1938 - 1997)

RIP to Reemy, my avatar dog (2003 - 9/16/2017)
ziggy29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2008, 10:03 AM   #9
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
OAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Central, Ohio, USA
Posts: 2,598
Do you have a "auto program" function on the TV and/or the remote? - Maybe just a rescan will get the "lost" stations back.
__________________
Vietnam Veteran, CW4 USA, Retired 1979
OAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2008, 10:55 AM   #10
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
cute fuzzy bunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Losing my whump
Posts: 22,697
Do you have AC power near where the splitters are currently? If not, some of the powered splitters can take their AC power over an extra piece of coaxial cable up to a specified distance.

My setup had a huge, and I mean huge, RS antenna in the attic hung from the rafters, with a 10db adjustable splitter and then two legs, one short and one long that was split twice. Worked great but at the full 10db the noise pickup sucked...7db was just about right for my setup.

Do a google on "amplifier splitter adjustable". You can amp and then split, its better to do both at the same time.

Mine looked sort of like this, but I think I got it at RS:
rackmount-devices.com: 013-0407 Low Noise UHF/VHF F-Type RF House Amplifier with Adjustable Gain and FM Trap (1, 2 or 4 Outputs)


A brief discussion on why adjustable amps are good...you'll like Harsh's avatar...:
OTA Amplifier / Splitter Recommendations - DBSTalk.Com
__________________

__________________
Be fearful when others are greedy, and greedy when others are fearful. Just another form of "buy low, sell high" for those who have trouble with things. This rule is not universal. Do not buy a 1973 Pinto because everyone else is afraid of it.
cute fuzzy bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless Router Antenna travelover Other topics 18 06-24-2007 10:38 AM
Probably a signal that I am trading excessively brewer12345 FIRE and Money 6 12-22-2006 08:24 AM
Dealing with the parents in law Nords Other topics 23 09-15-2006 08:07 PM
failed rally = very bearish signal? wabmester FIRE and Money 7 05-18-2006 05:38 PM
Dealing with 'stuff' Brat Other topics 30 03-21-2006 07:07 PM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:14 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.