Join Early Retirement Today
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Does computer you use affect what you see?
Old 07-18-2013, 11:53 AM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,504
Does computer you use affect what you see?

Recently I was using DD's computer which is a small netbook using Chrome.
I tried to look at a link on a forum but I was asked to register and attest that I was a financial advisor which I am not so I aborted the attempt. Later I tried to find schedule for the local bus system but was only able to find the stops, not the schedule, even tho I was doing the same steps as a rep for the bus company who could see it.

Later when I was home I tried the same things using the Mac using Safari.
I was able to view the first link directly w/o any registration and I was able to see the time schedules w/o a problem.

Does that make sense?

kaneohe is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-18-2013, 12:05 PM   #2
Full time employment: Posting here.
SumDay's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 738
No, but DH just got a Chromebook, so I'll be watching this thread with great interest. He thinks I'm his Help Desk for all things technology related, so I need to get up to speed on this.

All I can think of is that she has some settings that might prohibit Flash or Java from running?

SumDay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 12:28 PM   #3
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,504
Good point.........I was trying to do a google spreadsheet copy and paste and I had to give permission for every single time I did it..........although the Mac also prevents Java from running and doesn't have flash, I was going to say it didn't have that problem (at least at some time in the past) but I just tried it and it did something would warn me that cc and paste was not an available function,but it would still do it but the error message would pop up each time.
It did tell me that the Mac equivalent of ctl-c and ctl-v were available.
kaneohe is offline   Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:01 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.