Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Download to Macbook question (re: speed)
Old 12-22-2008, 12:51 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,925
Download to Macbook question (re: speed)

I thought I'd try to finally download the upgraded OS X v.10.5.5 on
my v 10.5 Macbook (about 700MB including other stuff). Didn't even try t
do it at home w/ the Municipal wifi which varies from ok to terrible speed.
Went to the City library where I assumed signal would be stronger/more reliable. Maybe it is but it still estimated 7hrs which I didn't believe at first but after watching it for 10min, I'm a believer.

How long would a file that size take to download on DSL/cable? I suppose there is a range there also. Is there a way to get this done on a one-time basis instead of having to get a recurring monthly charge? At the Apple store? Any idea what they might charge?
__________________

__________________
kaneohe is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-22-2008, 12:55 PM   #2
Moderator
ziggy29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 15,612
I usually get around 250-300KBps through DSL. Let's call it 15 MB per minute conservatively. That means a 700 MB download would take about 47 minutes.
__________________

__________________
"Hey, for every ten dollars, that's another hour that I have to be in the work place. That's an hour of my life. And my life is a very finite thing. I have only 'x' number of hours left before I'm dead. So how do I want to use these hours of my life? Do I want to use them just spending it on more crap and more stuff, or do I want to start getting a handle on it and using my life more intelligently?" -- Joe Dominguez (1938 - 1997)

RIP to Reemy, my avatar dog (2003 - 9/16/2017)
ziggy29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2008, 01:01 PM   #3
Recycles dryer sheets
slouch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 152
Speakeasy - Speed Test says my Comcast cable connection is getting 23064kbps download / 8953 kbps upload. (1 megabyte / 23064kbps) =~ 0.36 seconds per meg.
__________________
slouch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2008, 02:04 PM   #4
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 18,264
If you have an Apple store near you, I'm pretty sure that they all have high speed wireless in the store that you can log into and use no charge, eps for Apple-related usage like this.

They might even have the latest upgrades on a DVD for customers to use. It would be worth asking. Or, just let it dl overnight at home.

I get about 2000-3000kbs dl speed on my ISP, but I think they throttle that down to ~ 1000kbps after the first 10 MB of any single 'connection'. So a large dl is slower than several small ones.


And do *not* be surprised if after dl'ing and installing that first 700MB, it will re-scan and then say you need *another* 700MB dl. A lot of the updates are incremental, and you need to have one loaded before it can even check on the others.


I see they just released the 10.5.6 combo updater. I would go that route, rather than through the 'Software Update' panel:

Mac OS X 10.5.6 Combo Update

I'm pretty sure this will do it all in one shot, since it is recent. ( 12/15/2008)

-ERD50
__________________
ERD50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2008, 05:07 PM   #5
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,925
thanks all for your help...I'm all calibrated now. I did call the local Apple store....they said they would do it for me for free but I would have to leave it for 1-2 days. Trying to avoid the mall rush for now. Trying to casually bump into my neighbor who has some kind of cable connection and hope he can read minds....... Thanks again.

btw......just to educate me....at the library, I downloaded a much smaller printer driver intending in my mind just to download to get it on the computer. I thought I was successful......saw some kind of icon on the desktop. I didn't install it since I thought I needed to have that much larger OS done first and perhaps have the printer connected.
When I got home, the printer driver icon was not on the desktop anymore.
Does that make sense? With my limited understanding of how stuff works,
that doesn't make sense

ERD50.....your speed seems to be intermediate between the other 2. What kind of connection is that.......superfast DSL, slow cable or
__________________
kaneohe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2008, 05:26 PM   #6
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 18,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaneohe View Post
thanks all for your help...I'm all calibrated now. I did call the local Apple store....they said they would do it for me for free but I would have to leave it for 1-2 days. Trying to avoid the mall rush for now. Trying to casually bump into my neighbor who has some kind of cable connection and hope he can read minds....... Thanks again.

btw......just to educate me....at the library, I downloaded a much smaller printer driver intending in my mind just to download to get it on the computer. I thought I was successful......saw some kind of icon on the desktop. I didn't install it since I thought I needed to have that much larger OS done first and perhaps have the printer connected.
When I got home, the printer driver icon was not on the desktop anymore.
Does that make sense? With my limited understanding of how stuff works,
that doesn't make sense

ERD50.....your speed seems to be intermediate between the other 2. What kind of connection is that.......superfast DSL, slow cable or
You are right -it is sort of 'intermediate speed'. It is called 'fixed wireless' - I have an antenna on my roof that points to a tower a few miles away. It's a smaller private company running it - I hate dealing with monopolies and avoid it as much as I can, so I went with this at $29/mo. They have given good service, and a few local businesses rely on them, so I figure they need to maintain the uptime to support real business. Motorola provides the hardware - their 'canopy' system. I think there are higher speed versions available now, not sure if I could upgrade or not. But I might call them about it - my VOIP call quality is iffy at times. I think that's a packet loss problem, maybe speed makes no diff?


Just a guess on the desktop icon - that might be a 'mounted volume' that could go away if you shut down the computer. You might need to look in your download folder, and open it from there, which should re-mount it. But as M Paquette said earlier, you may not need it if you get the latest OS updates.

-ERD50
__________________
ERD50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2008, 08:55 AM   #7
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,925
Update: printer now works w/ older OS. When I asked SIL what magic he used, I discovered that I have outwitted the gurus and graduated w/ honors in the smarter idiot program and demonstrated the truth of that little learning/dangerous thing saying. In the interest of process improvement, I offer this real life example to improve your guru skills.

Though I used to like to read owner manuals cover to cover before doing anything, I have become allergic to the thickness of these things, esp. since I got the 2006 Subaru. Therefore for this printer endeavor, I used the 1 pg quick installation card provided by the Canon printer.
"Connect computer to printer w/ provided cable". How hard can that be? I found myself looking at 4 or so possible places on the printer, started pulling out one of the plastic plugs, then thought maybe they put the plugs there for a purpose. Right.....one had a picture of a telephone....I wasn't trying to fax so the plug went back. Only saw one unblocked hole labeled w/ an "L" . Didn't know what that meant but the cable fit perfectly .....I've carried the printer around w/ cable attached w/o it falling out. SIL informed me that it is for ? ethernet ? connection and that it merely is a perfect mechanical fit (for some reason) but provides no electrical contacts. I should have plugged it in another unblocked (I think )port which is not located centrally with the other ports (it has a symbol for 3 lines merging into 1 which has no meaning to me). It also doesn't help that the printer is black and even in daylight it is hard to see detail (wondered why SIL asked for a flashlight). The "little learning" thing was that I thought I was once told that if you have multiple USB( or parallel) ports, you can plug into any of them . So I suppose as long as I exist, you gurus have your work cut out for you.
__________________
kaneohe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2008, 11:42 PM   #8
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 408
Kanohe:

Have you finished downloading yet. If not why not drive your car and park in front of my house. Leave the car. Have your wife drive you home.

Be sure your laptop is fully charged and start down loading. My DSL is not the greatest but it's not encrypted.

Will be gone all day, X'mas get together.

Or drop by some other time when I'm, home. Only problem is the kids are home so their computer's are on all day long. DSL slows way down.

You know who I am .......lumileds/agilent/hp

send me an e-mail
__________________
wolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2008, 03:04 AM   #9
Moderator Emeritus
CuppaJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: At The Cafe
Posts: 6,866
Glad I wasn't the only one on this. They had an upgrade some months ago that I gave up on because I had dial-up at the time. When I upgraded to a higher speed, I'd leave it overnight and it seemed to just be stuck at the beginning. Then the 12/15 upgrade came, still I'd leave it for hours and it would be stuck in configuration. I was ready to head over to the Apple store when it finally took.
__________________

__________________
CuppaJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Printer installation for Macbook kaneohe Other topics 10 12-09-2008 10:36 PM
Question about MacBook kaneohe Other topics 2 11-06-2008 01:32 PM
Macbook and secure webpages kaneohe Other topics 7 08-25-2008 05:55 PM
PodCasts-anyone download and listen modhatter Other topics 10 08-28-2006 09:32 AM
Free download of TaxAct available soupcxan FIRE and Money 1 12-08-2004 09:27 AM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:33 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.