Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Echo: Who can call you?
Old 11-26-2018, 07:52 AM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
imoldernu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Peru
Posts: 6,218
Echo: Who can call you?

Was a big discussion over the holiday.

Am slow with this... must be an easy answer.
__________________

__________________
We grow too soon old, and too late smart-
Old Dutch saying
imoldernu is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-26-2018, 08:03 AM   #2
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 796
Anyone in your contacts that also has an echo. You can call room to room also. When DH is at the cabin, I can call him on the device saying "ALexa call (room device name)I use my echo at home and call the remote device.. You can also call most anyone using the device by saying Alexa, dial (area code and phone number)
__________________

bizlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 08:23 AM   #3
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
imoldernu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Peru
Posts: 6,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by bizlady View Post
Anyone in your contacts that also has an echo. You can call room to room also. When DH is at the cabin, I can call him on the device saying "ALexa call (room device name)I use my echo at home and call the remote device.. You can also call most anyone using the device by saying Alexa, dial (area code and phone number)
Yes... we do this, but who can call me? Anyone in my contacts? And, we only use our land line for a phone.
__________________
We grow too soon old, and too late smart-
Old Dutch saying
imoldernu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 08:46 AM   #4
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 796
Anyone in your contacts that also has an ALexa


How to here: https://www.pcmag.com/feature/358674...-amazon-echo/2

We just use our landline as well, but others can if you enable it
bizlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 09:36 AM   #5
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,864
They always make this stuff look easy on TV. "Alexa, turn on the lights, play song by Elton John, turn down the thermostat, call mom..."

What they don't show is that you have to connect up all this stuff to each piece; (AFAIK), it doesn't work right out of the box when you plug it in.
__________________
Living well is the best revenge!
Retired @ 52 in 2005
marko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 09:40 AM   #6
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
imoldernu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Peru
Posts: 6,218
yes... when I go to contacts, it says:

Alexa has xxx contacts stored on the cloud. Use the Alexa app to review cloud contacts.

No contacts found.
.................................................. .................................................. ........

I am dumb... but I don't see anything on the Alexa app that tells me how to get to the cloud contacts. Just a place to add new contacts.
.................................................. ..........................................

I really don't want to open my Echo to every person that I have my contacts list. I was concerned about contacts that could open me to solicitations by commercial entities.
.................................................. .................................................. ......

So... if I manually add a contact, could I call that person with my Alexa echo?
.................................................. .................................................. .....

My son calls me on the echo, "drop in on"... but I don't show him as a contact. How does that work?
.................................................. .................................................. ......
I've had, and used... the echo for almost a year, and think I signed on to it, using a smartphone and a number that is no longer valid. Does that mean that Amazon is now using my landline as authorization?
.................................................. .................................................. ......
The "internet" seems to think that everyone has a smartphone to use apps... It gets confusing to this old man. My Alexa "app" is on my PC Desktop.
.................................................. .................................................. .....
Thanks for the replies. No need to answer these questions... it all works well enough for me as it is today. It was a "just wondering" thingy.
.................................................. .................................................. ....
My next harassing question will be about the Fire Stick... so far, so good, but using Alexa voice commands seems to be iffy on my "not smart TV".

Today's a snow day here in Peru... (Chicago area), so I have the day off.
__________________
We grow too soon old, and too late smart-
Old Dutch saying
imoldernu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 10:52 AM   #7
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Chuckanut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: West of the Mississippi
Posts: 9,155
Youíre not dumb. The internet of things doesnít always work well and itís not your fault.
__________________
The worst decisions are usually made in times of anger and impatience.
Chuckanut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 01:54 PM   #8
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 21,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by marko View Post
They always make this stuff look easy on TV. "Alexa, turn on the lights, play song by Elton John, turn down the thermostat, call mom..."

What they don't show is that you have to connect up all this stuff to each piece; (AFAIK), it doesn't work right out of the box when you plug it in.
I wonder how many people don't realize you need a smart plug for each of those things you want to control? I bet quite a few.


https://www.amazon.com/Meross-Google...XGMQPTH0J52M9F

We were at SIL the other day. She said there is some interaction with Alexa between one of the lights she turns on/off, and the TV getting turned on/off.

I'm no Luddite, I do all sorts of computer stuff, build my own circuits, do programming, etc, but I just don't think flipping a switch is that big a deal. I'd rather do that than deal with potential network issues, etc. There's just not enough 'gain' there for me to want to deal with even a single problem. Flip the damn switch! They always work!

-ERD50
ERD50 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 01:57 PM   #9
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,864
Quote:
Originally Posted by ERD50 View Post
There's just not enough 'gain' there for me to want to deal with even a single problem. Flip the damn switch! They always work!

-ERD50
+1
Whenever I'm faced with a 'solution' the first question I ask is 'what problem am I trying to solve?'
__________________
Living well is the best revenge!
Retired @ 52 in 2005
marko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 02:38 PM   #10
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 775
Quote:
Originally Posted by ERD50 View Post
I wonder how many people don't realize you need a smart plug for each of those things you want to control? I bet quite a few.


https://www.amazon.com/Meross-Google...XGMQPTH0J52M9F

We were at SIL the other day. She said there is some interaction with Alexa between one of the lights she turns on/off, and the TV getting turned on/off.

I'm no Luddite, I do all sorts of computer stuff, build my own circuits, do programming, etc, but I just don't think flipping a switch is that big a deal. I'd rather do that than deal with potential network issues, etc. There's just not enough 'gain' there for me to want to deal with even a single problem. Flip the damn switch! They always work!

-ERD50
I was at Walmart the other day and found a few remote-controlled outlets on clearance for $4. It came with a fob. Push the top button to turn on the outlet and the lamp that is plugged in. Push the bottom button to turn off. Very simple. Sometimes that is all that someone needs.
__________________

broadway is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Echo Oil Consumption Strangeness TromboneAl Other topics 7 05-17-2015 06:06 PM
Echo Boomers & Immigration will save us (Boomers)? Midpack FIRE and Money 10 05-10-2014 06:14 PM
Not a house call, a bar call... REWahoo Other topics 5 11-18-2010 01:28 PM
hypermiling in my Echo Pete Other topics 61 06-18-2008 07:38 AM
No Call List? What No Call List? mickeyd Other topics 5 10-04-2006 09:50 AM

» Quick Links

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:31 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.