Engineers on this Board

Jarhead*

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Hi all:
Just an observation.
I have enjoyed most of the thoughtful, and detailed posts from most on this board.
I am a little bit of a slow learner, and until the light bulb came on recently I had not figured out that I am about the only regular poster that wasn't an engineer in my previous life.
Is there anybody on this board that wasn't an engineer in their previous life?
I used to be a district sales manager, and the guys that I figured needed a lesson in humility would be given the leads to talk to any engineers I could drum up. They rarely disappointed, and were very helpful in weeding out the troops that were not suited for our business.
Mostly, the comments were "life is too short for this". :D
That was then, this is now. Please keep up your amazingly thorough posts, as I have managed to pick up enough detail to be helpful.
Regards, Jarhead

Is there anybody on this board that wasn't an engineer in their previous life?

Jarhead,
I was in Public Health. But then, I do have an undergraduate engineering degree. A certain degree of obsessiveness is required for one to spend time on these technical RE pursuits.

Mikey

I am the furthest thing from an engineer. Can barely screw in a lightbulb.
Not proud of it, but there it is..............

John Galt

A pessimist says the glass is half empty,
an optimist says it's half full, but an
engineer says it's twice as big as it needs to be.

I'm also a non-engineer. :D

A pessimist says the glass is half empty,
an optimist says it's half full, but an
engineer says it's twice as big as it needs to be.

I'm also a non-engineer. :D

An engineer never says "overkill". We say "safety margin". :D

A true R&D type would need more glasses and more tests before drawing any conclusions.

I had a framed plaque on my desk for many years:

There comes a time in every program when it is necessary to shoot the engineers and start production.