Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
excellent phishing attempt
Old 03-21-2006, 10:09 AM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,467
Dear Chase Manhattan Customer,

You have been chosen by the Chase Manhattan online department to take
part in our quick and easy 5 question survey. In return we will
credit $20 to your account - Just for your time!
and Helping us better understand how our customers feel benefits
everyone.
With the information collected we can decide to direct a number of
changes to improve and expand our online service. The information you
provide us is all non-sensitive and anonymous -
No part of it is handed down to any third party groups.
It will be stored in our secure database for maximum of 3 days while
we process the results of this nationwide survey.
We kindly ask you to spare two minutes of your time in taking part
with this unique offer! To Continue click on the link below.

https://chaseonline.chase.com/chaseo...sp?LOBRBGLogon

-----------------------------------------

Take a look at that link to see how real it appears. DO NOT ENTER ANY INFORMATION! Unless it's bogus.

Clues that it isn't what it seems: The return address is admin@gmail.com. The actual sending host is 80.96.112.115, which isn't a chase computer and appears to be located in Romania. Finally, I don't have a chase account (and banks never send emails asking for account information anyway.)

I'm not sure the intent. It's either some kind of Denial of Service attempt...or they hacked the chase servers. Scary.

eridanus is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Re: excellent phishing attempt
Old 03-21-2006, 10:11 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
Nords's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oahu
Posts: 17,531
They're getting a lot better.

I get a bunch of "Fraud alerts" and "Your credit card has been suspended" warnings from the Bank of Hawaii. Good thing I don't have an account there!
__________________
*
*
For more info see "About Me" in my profile.
Nords is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: excellent phishing attempt
Old 03-21-2006, 10:16 AM   #3
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,769
The gremlins are getting braver. They had a go at the Federal Thrift Saving Plan. Probably a bad choice, I assume someone will be tracking down those phisers.
__________________
“There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The
other is as though everything is a miracle.” - Albert Einstein
yakers is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: excellent phishing attempt
Old 03-21-2006, 03:05 PM   #4
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
cute fuzzy bunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Losing my whump
Posts: 22,526
Hmmm...maybe something got lost in the cut and paste of the url, because that page link above is verisign verified to belong to JP Morgan Chase...
__________________

Many an optimist has become rich by buying out a pessimist
cute fuzzy bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: excellent phishing attempt
Old 03-21-2006, 03:51 PM   #5
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,467
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cute 'n' Fuzzy Bunny
Hmmm...maybe something got lost in the cut and paste of the url, because that page link above is verisign verified to belong to JP Morgan Chase...
Exactly. It is indeed their server. The site was either hacked or...Chase is sending emails from Romania with a from: address of admin@gmail.com.


From: "Chase Manhattan"<admin@gmail.com>

Received: from [80.96.112.115] (helo=User)
by semnai.site5.com with esmtpa (Exim 4.52)
id 1FLe4m-0005fF-Rw; Tue, 21 Mar 2006 05:26:57 -0500

traceroute 80.96.112.115
9 de-fra01a-rd1-pos-5-0.aorta.net (213.46.179.5) 150.167 ms 151.514 ms 149.271 ms
10 ro-clu01a-ra1-so-0-0-0.aorta.net (213.46.160.74) 171.751 ms 172.480 ms 171.792 ms
11 r1-TenGigabitEthernet-1-1.bucuresti.astralnet.ro (213.46.170.70) 173.097 ms 172.744 ms 172.836 ms
12 r6-ge0-v91-dr.constanta.astralnet.ro (85.186.212.5) 185.768 ms 186.831 ms 185.082 ms
13 ct-tsat-sdr.tnet.ro (193.226.47.146) 188.275 ms 189.067 ms 185.722 ms
14 * *^C



eridanus is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: excellent phishing attempt
Old 03-21-2006, 03:52 PM   #6
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
cute fuzzy bunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Losing my whump
Posts: 22,526
How. Strange. Maybe they tried a phish but forgot to use the right link to redirect to their own server...
__________________

Many an optimist has become rich by buying out a pessimist
cute fuzzy bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: excellent phishing attempt
Old 03-21-2006, 03:58 PM   #7
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,467
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cute 'n' Fuzzy Bunny
How. Strange. Maybe they tried a phish but forgot to use the right link to redirect to their own server...
Good point. That's more likely then a hack of the Chase servers.
eridanus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
phishing call as mutual fund ? JohnEyles Other topics 3 10-11-2006 01:46 PM
Hacked bank server hosts phishing sites -Heads Up for Chase and Ebay poboy FIRE and Money 6 03-14-2006 06:22 PM
Cyber crime & Phishing WARNING $$$ acg FIRE and Money 16 11-12-2005 09:22 AM
Excellent Washer! wabmester Other topics 17 08-04-2005 09:10 AM
Excellent Retirement Crisis Analysis Bob_Smith Other topics 79 09-16-2004 05:50 PM


Other Social Knowledge forum communities:
Cooking Forum - Sailing Forum - Early Retirement - Airstream Trailer - Aquarium Forum - Royal Forum - Book Forum - Volkswagen Touareg Forum - Jeep Wrangler Forum - Whitewater Kayaking & Rafting Forum - Fiberglass RV Forum - RV Forum - Truck Conversion - U2 Music Forum
Investing Channel
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:25 PM.
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.0.1
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0