Join Early Retirement Today

FA question
Old 07-24-2018, 08:51 AM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

FA question

A former departmental admin. at MegaMotors is retiring soon. She's a frightened at the prospect of leaving and is feeling overwhelmed by the choices she needs to make with regard to Medicare, SS, etc.

I get the sense that she's possibly not in the greatest shape financially. I'm trying to stay very much at arm's length.

She mentioned having a FA. (He is one that a corporate V.P. and another coworker use also, which is probably how she connected with the FA.) I suggested asking the FA whether he is a fiduciary, how he's paid (whether he is fee-only), etc. She sent me an email this morning, "He gets paid from the companies he represents. Not from our transactions. Is that good or bad?"

I have ZERO experience with FAs and how their pay/commissions/fees might be structured.

How would you respond?

omni

omni550 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-24-2018, 09:14 AM   #2
Recycles dryer sheets