Join Early Retirement Today

Farmland with trees purchase question - brace yourself!
Old 07-27-2018, 10:37 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Farmland with trees purchase question - brace yourself!

I have a question for y'all about buying land with trees.

I found some property in central Missouri. The property has a house of approx 1600 sqft on about 150 acres of land. The land is mostly covered in trees, maybe 130 acres.

I'm thinking I could buy the land for $400K, sell my house for $180K (100% equity), sell the trees for $260K then lease out the resulting cleared land for $20K/yr ($180 per acre per year). I net $40K plus $20K/yr and my cost of living is lower.

I am assuming (perhaps incorrectly) that trees would be worth $2000 per acre and that tree buyers would clear everything including the stumps. I'm also assuming that I don't have to "do anything" to make the cleared land suitable to lease for growing crops.

I know nothing about trees or farming. I'm a tech guy.

Does all of this seem plausible or is this one of those hare-brained ideas that only makes sense while sitting in an Aeron chair on the internet in an air-conditioned room while surfing the net with too many tabs open?

After you stop laughing, please tell me where my assumptions are incorrect.
Thank you.
johnhkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!