Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Firefox 3.6.25 to 9.0.1?
Old 01-25-2012, 10:02 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
veremchuka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: irradiated - too close to the nuclear furnace
Posts: 1,294
Firefox 3.6.25 to 9.0.1?

I was prompted to upgrade maybe 6 weeks ago so I did but immediately I thought a few 'things' looked a little different. Specifically I thought that the bookmarks and organizing them was different, I wasn't sure how to manage them as I had been and so I figured other things were going to be different too. So I felt that 9.0.1 was another upgrade that requires figuring out how to do what I used to know how to do and where to find things and I wanted no part of it, I am tired of having to constantly relearn what I used to know because thing are 'improved'.

I keep getting prompted about upgrading and I'm declining but I can't stay at 3.6.25 forever. Anyone find that the 9.0.1 version is different and things are not found or done like they were in 3.6.25 or is it the same? If different is it minor or are there a lot of differences? I swear some things did appear to be different and I was in no mood to deal with it.
__________________

__________________
veremchuka is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-25-2012, 10:05 PM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
REWahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 42,080
Quote:
Originally Posted by veremchuka View Post
I was prompted to upgrade maybe 6 weeks ago so I did but immediately I thought a few 'things' looked a little different. Specifically I thought that the bookmarks and organizing them was different, I wasn't sure how to manage them as I had been and so I figured other things were going to be different too. So I felt that 9.0.1 was another upgrade that requires figuring out how to do what I used to know how to do and where to find things and I wanted no part of it, I am tired of having to constantly relearn what I used to know because thing are 'improved'.

I keep getting prompted about upgrading and I'm declining but I can't stay at 3.6.25 forever. Anyone find that the 9.0.1 version is different and things are not found or done like they were in 3.6.25 or is it the same? If different is it minor or are there a lot of differences? I swear some things did appear to be different and I was in no mood to deal with it.
Are you aware of the first warning signs of curmudeonhood?
__________________

__________________
Numbers is hard

When I hit 70, it hit back

Retired in 2005 at age 58, no pension
REWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 11:08 PM   #3
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Coach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 1,127
I haven't noticed much in the way of changes at 9.0.1 -- but it seems like release cycles are getting so short that it's hard to keep track of what happened when.

Coach
__________________
"Comprehensive health insurance is an idea whose time has come in America." President Richard M. Nixon, February 6, 1974
Coach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 11:15 PM   #4
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
TromboneAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11,197
I was annoyed by some things after upgrading, and I think I had to make a change in where the tabs were located, but in general things were OK.

I generally resist upgrades. On my iPod there are about 20 apps that want me to upgrade. I upgraded imdb, and the only diff is slower response time and more ads.
__________________
Al
TromboneAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 11:34 PM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
Nords's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Oahu
Posts: 26,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by veremchuka View Post
I keep getting prompted about upgrading and I'm declining but I can't stay at 3.6.25 forever.
I swear some things did appear to be different and I was in no mood to deal with it.
I upgraded from that version of FF to Chrome "16.0.912.75 m"

There are some differences, but none that would invalidate my curmudgeon certificate. It also seems to play well with my other Google account software.

Yeah, I know Google changed their privacy policy yesterday and we can't opt out. I've gotten over it. I don't care.
__________________
*
*

The book written on E-R.org, "The Military Guide to Financial Independence and Retirement", on sale now! For more info see "About Me" in my profile.
I don't spend much time here anymore, so please send me a PM. Thanks.
Nords is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 05:15 AM   #6
Moderator
MichaelB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rocky Inlets
Posts: 24,428
I installed the Firefox upgrade to resolve memory issues that did not resolve. Performance is still improved and the look and feel has taken a few days to get used to. No other problems, though.
__________________
MichaelB is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 07:41 AM   #7
Recycles dryer sheets
justplainbll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Easten Long Island
Posts: 414
Took a bit of fiddling to get my bookmarks toolbar to display.
__________________
justplainbll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 07:50 AM   #8
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Chuckanut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: West of the Mississippi
Posts: 6,323
Ignore upgrades at your own risk. Often they patch known security holes that are being exploited. No upgrade means your online security is at risk. My 2 cents.
__________________
The worst decisions are usually made in times of anger and impatience.
Chuckanut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 09:05 AM   #9
Full time employment: Posting here.
tightasadrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: athens
Posts: 802
I installed Firefox 9.xx onto my iMac. Now, every time I click on a link within an email, the Firefox startup page opens, but not the link. This happens even within Safari on a hot link. Can't figure out how to correct it other than deleting Firefox completely. Anyone else see this?

To the original message, I haven't found the Firefox upgrade difficult to use. I like it better.
__________________
Can't you see yourself in the nursing home saying, " Darn! Wish I'd spent more time at the office instead of wasting time with family and friends."
tightasadrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 11:02 AM   #10
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Major Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: SF East Bay
Posts: 3,129
I had an annoying bit of malware recently that was redirecting my copy of Firefox to a 404 error page on Hotspot Shield containing ads. I have never installed or used Hotspot Shield. It was getting annoying, as sometimes I'd be on a page that I really wanted to stay on, and the next thing I knew, I'd be staring at a different page with ads. Anti-virus and malware applications didn't solve the problem, so I decided to wipe the system drive and do a complete clean re-install of XP. On re-installing some of my applications, I've ended up with newer versions and had to spend quite a bit of time relearning them - and this was only after 2 or 3 years. I'm wondering how much work it would take to play catch-up if I were to decide not to upgrade anything for much longer?

Even the die-hards are pretty much forced to upgrade at some point, but what if you went to live in the woods for, say, 15 years, then came back into civilization. How tough would the adjustment be? Or imagine if lifespans increased to the point where we all stuck around for 150 years. Imagine how grumpy some of us would be with all the change we'd have to deal with

For most of yesterday, I was seriously wishing that I could live without my computer and thinking about how dependant on them and their associated networks we have become, but as a society, we do almost everything on them. There is no going back now.
__________________
ER, for all intents and purposes. Part-time income <5% of annual expenditure.
Major Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 11:19 AM   #11
Full time employment: Posting here.
tightasadrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: athens
Posts: 802
This is almost depressing.
__________________
Can't you see yourself in the nursing home saying, " Darn! Wish I'd spent more time at the office instead of wasting time with family and friends."
tightasadrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 07:55 AM   #12
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Romney, WV
Posts: 729
I thought it was going to be worse than it turned out to be, does that mean I'm a pessimist? A few changes to appearance and a couple of add ons that I wasn't really using didn't work- can't even remember which ones now.
__________________
davemartin88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 08:07 AM   #13
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
REWahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 42,080
My only complaint about 9.0.1 is the 'translucent' menu toolbar. If your wallpaper on your desktop has a dark background the menu items don't have sufficient contrast to be easily read.
__________________
Numbers is hard

When I hit 70, it hit back

Retired in 2005 at age 58, no pension
REWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 09:25 AM   #14
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Major Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: SF East Bay
Posts: 3,129
Translucent menu toolbar? Where? That sounds cool! I have 9.0.1 and my toolbar is as opaque as they come - unless I'm doing something wrong.
__________________
ER, for all intents and purposes. Part-time income <5% of annual expenditure.
Major Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 09:41 AM   #15
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
REWahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 42,080
Firefox menu toolbar shown with gray and light blue backgrounds. The gray one is unreadable - at least for me.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Toolbar 1.jpg (17.8 KB, 2 views)
File Type: jpg Toolbar 2.jpg (21.4 KB, 2 views)
__________________
Numbers is hard

When I hit 70, it hit back

Retired in 2005 at age 58, no pension
REWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 10:00 AM   #16
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Major Tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: SF East Bay
Posts: 3,129
Hmmm.....I'm not getting this, but then I just installed it with all the defaults and haven't played around with settings at all. This is what mine looks like:

__________________
ER, for all intents and purposes. Part-time income <5% of annual expenditure.
Major Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 10:07 AM   #17
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
REWahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 42,080
I found a fix: Control Panel > Display > Personalization > Window Color. Uncheck "enable transparency".
__________________
Numbers is hard

When I hit 70, it hit back

Retired in 2005 at age 58, no pension
REWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 04:27 PM   #18
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Lsbcal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: west coast, hi there!
Posts: 5,676
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuckanut View Post
Ignore upgrades at your own risk. Often they patch known security holes that are being exploited. No upgrade means your online security is at risk. My 2 cents.
Totally agree with this.

I run Secunia PSI (free) and it checks all software to make sure you are up to date. Why take unnecessary risks? It does take a little time, but you hopefully are ER'd and have the time.
__________________
Lsbcal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 05:10 PM   #19
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Bikerdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,901
I used FF for many years and just recently switched to Chrome. Much faster, especially with streaming video content.
__________________
“I guess I should warn you, if I turn out to be particularly clear, you've probably misunderstood what I've said” Alan Greenspan
Bikerdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 05:17 PM   #20
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Lsbcal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: west coast, hi there!
Posts: 5,676
What I like about FF is the Adblock Add-on. Maybe Chrome has this but IE does not, I think.
__________________

__________________
Lsbcal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:02 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.