Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Firefox & Google search
Old 05-04-2011, 09:45 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets
BOBOT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 415
Firefox & Google search

In the new release (4.x) of Firefox the google toolbar search function doesn't work like I think it should. You used to start typing your search term, and suggestions would present as you typed, then you could click on one of the suggestions and the search would commence. Now, the suggestions still show up, but when you click on one...nothing. Your (unfinished) typed query is left in the box, and you have to type out the whole term.
Damn these modern "problems". It occurs to me that not so many years ago the paragraph above would seem like Sanskrit.

any ideas?
__________________

__________________
I still don't get it...
BOBOT is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-04-2011, 10:08 AM   #2
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 739
Hmmm, I have Firefox 4.0.1 and I start typing "victoria's......." and up comes my desired destination in the list, I click it and voila, it goes to the desired link.

In other words, I think mine works like it is supposed to and like it always did.
__________________

__________________
Zero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 07:25 PM   #3
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
haha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hooverville
Posts: 22,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero View Post
Hmmm, I have Firefox 4.0.1 and I start typing "victoria's......." and up comes my desired destination in the list, I click it and voila, it goes to the desired link.
In other words, I think mine works like it is supposed to and like it always did.
A fan of Victoria's Secret? Glad yours works like it always did. That's real comforting.

Ha
__________________
"As a general rule, the more dangerous or inappropriate a conversation, the more interesting it is."-Scott Adams
haha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 07:42 PM   #4
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
calmloki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Independence
Posts: 5,459
Hmm. if I type in the left hand URL box I get nothing but what I've input before. If in the righthand search box Victoria's secret pops up, but when clicked it takes me to a list of search options including Vi's secret, which then needs to be clicked if I want to look at women's scanties.

that's all the trouble shooting I can do right now. I have some other pressing research.
__________________
calmloki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 10:28 PM   #5
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 739
Funny but Google now has about half my browser page filled with lingerie ads and I'm having to do dozens of searches on mundane things like LL Bean, Fritos, tire repair services of San Diego, Navy recruitment center, and hope Google gets them on my browser page before the wife gets home.
__________________
Zero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 11:48 PM   #6
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
calmloki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Independence
Posts: 5,459
<Adblock> don't Firefox without it.
__________________
calmloki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 10:52 AM   #7
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 306
Quote:
Originally Posted by calmloki View Post
<Adblock> don't Firefox without it.
+1
__________________
-----------------------------------------------------
Whatever you do will be insignificant, but it is very important that you do it.
mickj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 11:07 AM   #8
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
ls99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4,792
Quote:
Originally Posted by mickj View Post
+1
+1
Turned off all of firefox's helpful features.
__________________
There must be moderation in everything, including moderation.
ls99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 08:30 PM   #9
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
zinger1457's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,454
Click on the g on the far left of the google search toolbar, select Manage Search Engines. Click the box on the bottom, "Show search suggestions".
__________________
zinger1457 is offline   Reply With Quote
Ok, I'm not crazy
Old 05-07-2011, 11:44 AM   #10
Recycles dryer sheets
BOBOT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 415
Ok, I'm not crazy

from the google "known issues" support site:



Unable to select from the search box drop-down list


When you attempt a search from the search box on your Toolbar it may not allow you to select items from your drop-down list of web history or search suggestions.
As a workaround, try using your keyboard to navigate the drop-down list to select your web history or search suggestions.
Having this issue? Reported.



Odd that they haven't fixed this yet, but at least the workaround cludge works.
__________________
I still don't get it...
BOBOT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 01:05 PM   #11
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
calmloki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Independence
Posts: 5,459
Quote:
Originally Posted by BOBOT View Post
from the google "known issues" support site:

Unable to select from the search box drop-down list


When you attempt a search from the search box on your Toolbar it may not allow you to select items from your drop-down list of web history or search suggestions.
As a workaround, try using your keyboard to navigate the drop-down list to select your web history or search suggestions.
Having this issue? Reported.



Odd that they haven't fixed this yet, but at least the workaround cludge works.
I just tried searches from the google and URL boxes and am able to mouse click suggested items - running XP Pro - what's your operating system - maybe that's where the conflict lies?
__________________
calmloki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2011, 02:41 PM   #12
Recycles dryer sheets
BOBOT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 415
Quote:
Originally Posted by calmloki View Post
...what's your operating system - maybe that's where the conflict lies?
Vista.
__________________

__________________
I still don't get it...
BOBOT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Did we lose Google Search Box? travelover Forum Admin 4 01-08-2011 01:44 PM
Taco & Adblock for Firefox dex Other topics 4 07-07-2010 01:55 PM
Google search not working??????? dex Other topics 3 04-06-2008 04:44 PM
Former MSFT employee & IE coder switches to FireFox Nords Other topics 8 09-29-2005 12:12 PM
Make Money While You Search Google tapedeck Other topics 4 06-30-2005 10:38 PM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:01 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.