Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Flash on Flash
Old 04-09-2016, 11:17 AM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Lsbcal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: west coast, hi there!
Posts: 5,677
Flash on Flash

Adobe Flash seems to have had a problem. Updates are urged to avoid ransomware. See this article:

http://krebsonsecurity.com/2016/04/a...at/#more-34432

Quote:
Adobe said a “critical” bug exists in all versions of Flash including Flash versions 21.0.0.197 and lower (older) across a broad range of systems, including Windows, Mac, Linux and Chrome OS. Find out if you have Flash and if so what version by visiting this link.

In a security advisory, the software maker said it is aware of reports that the vulnerability is being actively exploited on systems running Windows 7 and Windows XP with Flash Player version 20.0.0.306 and earlier.
__________________

__________________
Lsbcal is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-09-2016, 11:19 AM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
audreyh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rio Grande Valley
Posts: 16,464
We uninstalled Flash on all our computers over a year ago. It's just too dangerous.
__________________

__________________
Well, I thought I was retired. But it seems that now I'm working as a travel agent instead!
audreyh1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2016, 11:51 AM   #3
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 18,269
On my Linux system (Xubuntu 14.04), it looks like I have the "Pepper Flash Player - browser plugin" installed.

The "adobe-flashplugin" shows as 'Not Installed'.

I'm not sure if that means this is not a concern for me?

-ERD50
__________________
ERD50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2016, 01:07 PM   #4
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,885
Better lucky than good. I'm on Win 10.
__________________
Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2016, 01:50 PM   #5
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Utrecht
Posts: 2,211
Flash has a history of troubles like this. Why I haven't installed it.

Also, it avoids certain types of ads.
__________________
Totoro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2016, 03:08 PM   #6
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
redduck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: yonder
Posts: 2,054
What is the disadvantage of not having Flash working with Windows 7?
__________________
Carpe cōleī
redduck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2016, 05:15 PM   #7
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
walkinwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Denver
Posts: 2,676
Quote:
Originally Posted by audreyh1 View Post
We uninstalled Flash on all our computers over a year ago. It's just too dangerous.
+1

If I absolutely need to see flash content, I load up IE or chrome which have implemented their own renderers. Most of the time, I just move on.
__________________
walkinwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2016, 06:08 PM   #8
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
target2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,705
Flash content is blocked in my browser until I click on the video. I may update a few times each year.
__________________
target2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2016, 11:18 PM   #9
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Sunset's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,726
Quote:
Originally Posted by redduck View Post
What is the disadvantage of not having Flash working with Windows 7?
I'm wondering that too, is it just that you miss out on youtube and the news site videos ?
__________________
Sunset is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2016, 08:13 AM   #10
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,885
Quote:
Originally Posted by redduck View Post
What is the disadvantage of not having Flash working with Windows 7?
I'd also ask, what are viable alternative flash software to Adobe Flash for those that wish to stay away from the risk?
__________________
Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2016, 08:15 AM   #11
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
audreyh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rio Grande Valley
Posts: 16,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by easysurfer View Post
I'd also ask, what are viable alternative flash software to Adobe Flash for those that wish to stay away from the risk?
Few websites use flash anymore. It tends to be the legacy stuff. I do fine without it. I'm on a Mac but I doubt that makes a difference.
__________________
Well, I thought I was retired. But it seems that now I'm working as a travel agent instead!
audreyh1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2016, 10:43 AM   #12
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Lsbcal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: west coast, hi there!
Posts: 5,677
Since we discussed Adobe Flash in a previous thread about 6 months ago, I set the "ask to activate" in my Firefox plugin. Here is a simple way to proceed in Firefox: https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb...k-play-firefox

It seems maybe a few times a week I click on the link to allow Flash to activate and view the contents. I don't know if I'd be out of luck should I just uninstall Flash.
__________________
Lsbcal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2016, 10:53 AM   #13
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
target2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,705
Quote:
Originally Posted by easysurfer View Post
I'd also ask, what are viable alternative flash software to Adobe Flash for those that wish to stay away from the risk?
As a consumer of Flash, you're limited to the file format sent to your browser from the web site. As LSBCAL mentions, if you use Firefox, there is a builtin way to block the Flash, until you ok playback.

Each browser you use may have a different approach.
__________________
target2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2016, 11:20 AM   #14
Full time employment: Posting here.
Calico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 921
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lsbcal View Post
Since we discussed Adobe Flash in a previous thread about 6 months ago, I set the "ask to activate" in my Firefox plugin. Here is a simple way to proceed in Firefox: https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb...k-play-firefox

It seems maybe a few times a week I click on the link to allow Flash to activate and view the contents. I don't know if I'd be out of luck should I just uninstall Flash.
Thank you for the link. I just used it to disable Flash in Mozilla, and then did the same in my other browsers. Better safe than sorry.
__________________
Calico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2016, 12:12 PM   #15
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,885
Quote:
Originally Posted by target2019 View Post
As a consumer of Flash, you're limited to the file format sent to your browser from the web site. As LSBCAL mentions, if you use Firefox, there is a builtin way to block the Flash, until you ok playback.

Each browser you use may have a different approach.
Thanks for the info. For me I use Maxthon as the browser and looks like it uses Adobe Flash. But from the original post, looks like I'm okay (as of now) with Win 10 as the OS.
__________________
Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2016, 03:35 PM   #16
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Utrecht
Posts: 2,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunset View Post
I'm wondering that too, is it just that you miss out on youtube and the news site videos ?
youtube is html5, so that's ok. Most major news site videos also switched over. Not all of them.

So in general you are fine. Much different from the late nineties!
__________________
Totoro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2016, 04:09 PM   #17
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,358
Note that enabling "Click to activate" may not offer full protection since 1) the browser might start downloading the video before displaying it, and 2) the virus may exploit a weakness in that downloading process.
__________________
GrayHare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2016, 06:27 AM   #18
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Utrecht
Posts: 2,211
Which browsers download before 'click to activate'? Would surprise me if that opens up any vulnerability.

Just curious (and also to warn my friends).
__________________
Totoro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2016, 03:25 PM   #19
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
DFW_M5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4,982
I had installed flash for some reason a while back, and now can no longer remember the reason, so I uninstalled on my iMac.
__________________
Doing things today that others won't, to do things tomorrow that others can't. Of course I'm referring to workouts, not robbing banks.
DFW_M5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2016, 04:40 PM   #20
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,358
Quote:
Originally Posted by Totoro View Post
Which browsers download before 'click to activate'? Would surprise me if that opens up any vulnerability.
I don't know, but the browser's Flash plugin might begin to download content so that it has something to show as soon as you click Play or Activate. Many virii exploit a software's weakness for unexpected data, and such an exploit could easily be placed at the start of the content, the portion buffered in advance of Play or Activate. I don't know this is a risk in this particular case, but the remediation advice suggested upgrading not merely "avoid activating".
__________________

__________________
GrayHare is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
It's so cute - 8 GB USB flash drive spncity Other topics 6 03-29-2009 12:35 PM
Best Flash Drive or Alternatives? bright eyed Other topics 14 09-20-2008 09:21 PM
Backups: DVDs or flash drives? Nords Other topics 42 11-22-2007 10:58 PM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:37 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.