Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-31-2014, 07:50 PM   #21
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
NW-Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 19,388
Quote:
Originally Posted by MRG View Post
Our local electric company is offering free Honeywell Wi-Fi programmable thermostats with free installation. You have to meet certain requirements about your HVAC system but that shouldn't be a problem.

I'm not sure how much we'd actually save, but I can see some uses. Looking into the details it appears the electric company reserves the right to text your unit(s) to raise or lower your unit by 3-5 degrees if they're reaching capacity. I'm all for saving money and helping conserve resources, but this is past my comfort zone. Almost Orwell like. I think if I really want one, I'll go buy a Nest. Any opinions? Anyone done this?
A non-WiFi Honeywell programmable thermostat costs as little as $25, and a WiFi one that lets you foul around with the temperature setting while you are on the other side of the globe costs $99.

To allow the utility to mess with my temperature settings, they will have to pay me a lot more, particularly if that right is for perpuity! I do not know what my price would be, but it is not $99!
__________________

__________________
"Old age is the most unexpected of all things that can happen to a man" -- Leon Trotsky
NW-Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-31-2014, 07:52 PM   #22
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3,407
Would include installation right?

It wouldn't bother me too much. I don't crank the AC or the heat that much so my guess is they wouldn't dial it back that much.

I have more concerns about the security and privacy implications.
__________________

__________________
explanade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 07:56 PM   #23
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
NW-Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 19,388
I forgot to say that this is something I do myself all the time, so the free installation is of no monetary value to me.
__________________
"Old age is the most unexpected of all things that can happen to a man" -- Leon Trotsky
NW-Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 08:13 PM   #24
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
tryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,449
Quote:
Would include installation right?
The install on the ecobee was NOT trivial ... had a hvac guy as a guest (with his family) and he and I spent 2 hours. There's a comm board that mounts on the furnace ... the t-stat ties into the same board. Then the fun begins (programming the t-stat).
__________________
FIRE'd since 2005
tryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 11:02 PM   #25
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 891
Quote:
Originally Posted by tryan View Post
The install on the ecobee was NOT trivial ... had a hvac guy as a guest (with his family) and he and I spent 2 hours. There's a comm board that mounts on the furnace ... the t-stat ties into the same board. Then the fun begins (programming the t-stat).

I don't have AC, but I self installed an ecobee in my home and it wasn't difficult. A lot of it probably depends on your furnace. Mine was a straight swap from the Honeywell thermostat that I was replacing.

I like that I can control the device using my smart phone. It's come in handy a few times. Their charts on energy usage are also interesting, even though I haven't looked at them lately.
__________________
Eat, Drink and Be Merry.
tulak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 11:21 PM   #26
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
timo2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Rio Rancho
Posts: 1,438
My power company called so often about letting them turn off my air conditioner that I had to block the number. Regarding thermostats, I just got a lennox with wifi with my new two speed fan furnace. the thermostat is great. Even I would be tempted to consider the power off proposal for a free fancy thermostat. But since now have a new one, the sales number of the power company remains blocked.
__________________
"We live the lives we lead because of the thoughts we think" Michael O’Neill
timo2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2014, 06:42 AM   #27
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
tryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,449
Quote:
I don't have AC, but I self installed an ecobee in my home and it wasn't difficult.
That simplified things a bit. Ours is a geothermal system so we use the interrupts (INT1 and INT2) on the ecobee to sense any lockout. An email is sent if the system faults. Nice feature , but a PITA to set up.
__________________

__________________
FIRE'd since 2005
tryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat settings & your AC motor? Orchidflower Other topics 18 04-08-2011 06:14 PM
Need indoor, programmable, plug-in timer for house Orchidflower Travel Information 27 01-09-2010 05:28 PM
Programmable Thermostats and Energy Savings inquisitive FIRE and Money 16 11-29-2009 03:12 PM
Programmable Thermostat joesxm3 Other topics 11 07-25-2008 01:01 PM
How to rig up an intake fan to a thermostat/temp switch? thefed Other topics 6 08-21-2007 11:30 AM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:03 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.