Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-27-2014, 11:07 AM   #81
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,906
imoldernu was around when families huddled around the vacuum tube radio during winter for warmth.
__________________

__________________
Fermion is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-27-2014, 02:03 PM   #82
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
NW-Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 19,436
Eh, I am not that old, and I grew up with vacuum tubes.

Even in 1975, we had a VW with a tube radio. I had some problems finding the vibrator for its inverter.
__________________

__________________
"Old age is the most unexpected of all things that can happen to a man" -- Leon Trotsky
NW-Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 03:46 PM   #83
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
travelover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by NW-Bound View Post
.......... I had some problems finding the vibrator for its inverter.
Please....we try to keep this a family friendly forum.
__________________
Yes, I have achieved work / life balance.
travelover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 04:29 PM   #84
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
NW-Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 19,436
I am sure imoldernu remembers the inverter vibrator, but youngsters would not know what I am talking about, so here's a short history.

Some car radios in the 60s still had vacuum tubes. And vacuum tubes need a high voltage of at least 100V, while cars then had a 6V battery, not even 12V. An inverter was needed to step up the voltage, but if transistors were not available or too expensive for the radio, then high-current transistors for the inverter circuit would be just a dream.

Entered the vibrator. It's basically a vibrating mass, toggling a mechanical switch at 60Hz to drive a transformer with a square wave. The transformer steps up the voltage, which is then rectified to create the high voltage for the vacuum tubes.

See photos linked from archive.siliconchip.com.au.



__________________
"Old age is the most unexpected of all things that can happen to a man" -- Leon Trotsky
NW-Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 04:40 PM   #85
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
REWahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 42,134
Yep, I remember the inverter/vibrator. When dad bought a new 63 Chevy I 'inherited' the old family car - a 56 Belaire. It had no radio (dad was very frugal) so I had to find one at a local salvage yard. The inverter didn't work unless I hit the dash with my fist and I had to spring for a new one.

One of my fondest memories is the hum of that radio (inverter) parked out on lover's lane...
__________________
Numbers is hard

When I hit 70, it hit back

Retired in 2005 at age 58, no pension
REWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 05:41 PM   #86
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
imoldernu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Peru
Posts: 4,616
I'm sorry to say I don't recall the inverter for car radios... though I use one on my golf cart, for christmas lights, and toys like a PA system, and plug in gizmos... The vibrator looks interesting... Would make a big hit on those late, late night TV commercials.

My aunt Yvonne had a 39 Chrysler with a 78RPM record player built in where the glove compartment used to be. The needle didn't bounce around as much as the ones on the later LP's.

My personal radio was a Bettatone (below)... tuned with a cats whisker. My steam radiator as a ground, and the metal bedspring as an antenna.

.................................................. ....................
Need confirmation for this, but interesting it it's true.
Since I have so many low voltage charger/power supplies, it's quite interesting to note that between Voltage, Amps, and the size/shape of the connector... very few of these are duplicates. Voltage ranges ... 2, 2.5, 3.2, 3.5, 4.5, 5.0, 6.0 7.2, 9.0 12.0, and several printer and laptop power supplies of varying higher voltages. The connectors are very different... outside diameters may have 3 different size inside diameters, and between specialty connectors as in
different phones, and the four major different USB connectors (maybe more)...
..finding a replacement for a missing power supply often drives people to the $15.00 original replacement... Thus my buying them at resale for a quarter or less.

Discovery... that needs confirmation. I can usually match voltage and connector from my stash, but have been nervous about the differing amperages shown. in trying to find out if varying amperages would cause "burn out" problems, or "insufficient power"... I came across a battery information site that said... the amperage had to be at least equal to the original equipment, but if it was higher, no harm would be done to the battery or appliance, as long as the voltage was correct.
I have replaced a powersupply rated @ 6V .7Amp with one rated @6V 2amp... so far with no ill effects.
Would like confirmation of that... ?? anyone?

.....................................
One more... about that Hair dryer in the bathroom that electrocutes all of those bathtub victims on TV... I assume the the GFI would save a life... but... if no GFI... would the 15 amp fuse blow? DW refuses to let me test the theory.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg bettatone.jpg (17.9 KB, 36 views)
__________________
imoldernu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 05:55 PM   #87
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
travelover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by imoldernu View Post
..........
I have replaced a powersupply rated @ 6V .7Amp with one rated @6V 2amp... so far with no ill effects.
Would like confirmation of that... ?? anyone?
Yep, no problem

Quote:
.....................................
One more... about that Hair dryer in the bathroom that electrocutes all of those bathtub victims on TV... I assume the the GFI would save a life... but... if no GFI... would the 15 amp fuse blow? DW refuses to let me test the theory.
No the fuse won't blow before it possibly electrocutes you - thus the GFCI
__________________
Yes, I have achieved work / life balance.
travelover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 06:02 PM   #88
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
NW-Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 19,436
Now, I wonder if imoldernu is really that old if he does not remember the vibrating inverter! Perhaps he was just unobservant or didn't care when he was younger.

Regarding the other 2 questions, travelover is correct on both.

I'd like to add that amperage rating is like a load rating of a tire. If a tire says it can carry 2 tons, it will be loafing around with a load of 1 ton, just like your 2A adapter is cruising along powering a load of 0.7A. Why, when it is not plugged into anything, it is supplying 0A, and that did not bother it.

I am scratching my head here trying to find an analogy for the voltage output. Generally, plugging in a higher voltage adapter, say 12V, to a device with a lower voltage, say 6V, is 99% guaranteed to generate smoke and general unpleasantness and much unhappiness.
__________________
"Old age is the most unexpected of all things that can happen to a man" -- Leon Trotsky
NW-Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 06:37 PM   #89
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
travelover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by NW-Bound View Post
..............I am scratching my head here trying to find an analogy for the voltage output. Generally, plugging in a higher voltage adapter, say 12V, to a device with a lower voltage, say 6V, is 99% guaranteed to generate smoke and general unpleasantness and much unhappiness.
Putting 12 volts to a 6 volt device is kinda like putting 100 PSI into a tire rated for a maximum of 50 PSI. Boom.
__________________
Yes, I have achieved work / life balance.
travelover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 06:38 PM   #90
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
NW-Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 19,436
Yes! That example will do.
__________________
"Old age is the most unexpected of all things that can happen to a man" -- Leon Trotsky
NW-Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2014, 08:46 PM   #91
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 18,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by travelover View Post
Putting 12 volts to a 6 volt device is kinda like putting 100 PSI into a tire rated for a maximum of 50 PSI. Boom.
Quote:
Originally Posted by NW-Bound View Post
Yes! That example will do.
Yep, good analogy.

And for current/amperage, it's kind of like the air tank and hose size in the air compressor. If you want your tire filled to 32 PSI, and the compressor is set to 32 PSI, and the tank is filled to 32 PSI, it doesn't make much difference how big the tank and hose are - you won't get more than 32 PSI in your tires. The larger tank means you could fill more tires, or several tires at the same time. But you can't 'over-fill' a tire just because you have a reserve supply and big hoses. Everything stops at 32 PSI.

-ERD50
__________________
ERD50 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2014, 06:56 AM   #92
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
ls99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4,792
How many Model T Drivers? It had the vibrator ignition coil.

Some pranksters would mount them under their later model car, inverted with the high voltage wire hanging below and touching the ground. When some unsuspcting clod leaned on the car, casually hit the switch energizing it and making the car hot relative to ground, and the poor sap receiving a bit of a shock.
__________________

__________________
There must be moderation in everything, including moderation.
ls99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Saving money on electricity cute fuzzy bunny Other topics 89 02-03-2008 12:50 PM
This one makes the most sense. Electricity is needed. newguy88 Other topics 2 01-24-2008 10:49 AM
Some General Questions Cubitt Hi, I am... 8 12-26-2007 04:36 PM
General questions (while I'm young!) theguyonthecouch Hi, I am... 7 01-25-2007 10:14 AM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:57 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.