Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-20-2015, 10:23 AM   #21
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
ExFlyBoy5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,977
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreaming of Freedom View Post
I have the free version of Google Fiber in Kansas City. I had to pay $300 to get connected, but that included the modem. It is 5/1 down/up like the others say, though I have had a little bit better service than that when I did some speed tests. It is supposed to be free for 7 years. We almost never stream movies or TV, just You Tube videos, it seems to work good. There are only two of us, and we are not addicted to TV, movies, video games, or online videos, so we might not be the best metric. But Google has been good to work with.

Sent from my EVO using Early Retirement Forum mobile app
It's great that it's "free" for 7 years, but 5/1 speeds really aren't going to cut it for that long. We have 20/5 with AT&T and we are already having issues with some stuff. Most of my complaints are because of websites that are being more and more bogged down with scripts/codes/java/more/more/more crap that take way too long to load. I used to LOVE the "mobile" pages on my phone, but those too are now getting bogged down. AND...this is all while using Ad Block plus...I can't imagine how terrible it would be to try and run a "naked" news site on a 5/1 connection.
__________________

__________________
Founder and Head Lounger @ The Life of Leisure Institute
Retired in 2014 at the Ripe Age of 40.
ExFlyBoy5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-21-2015, 07:40 AM   #22
Confused about dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by MBAustin View Post
Don't get too excited. It was announced in Austin nearly 2 years ago and is still only available for signups in a relatively small area south of downtown. It is a VERY long build-out process.

As a south Austin resident, I can confirm that. I signed up over a year ago, got really excited when they installed the jack about 9 months ago, and I'm still waiting.


Sent from my iPad using Early Retirement Forum
__________________

__________________
KarenC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2015, 08:39 AM   #23
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
steelyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Triangle
Posts: 3,218
The effects of this are now (yes, now) being seen in the Triangle area in NC (that includes Raleigh).

Time Warner is bumping speeds at no extra cost to areas where it is being rolled out (e.g., the "Standard" 15 Mbs service goes up to 50 Mbps).

This is competition spurred by Google Fiber. I believe it was first announced in Charlotte.

I am curious to learn from someone who actually knows what they're talking about (a networking professional) what physical media changes are going on to make this happen. "Fiber" on its own is a pretty mass-market sort of word, or at least seems to be used that way, and "Google" on its own conjures up a certain mystique for average consumers like me.
__________________

steelyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2015, 09:54 AM   #24
Moderator
rodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 8,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by steelyman View Post
I am curious to learn from someone who actually knows what they're talking about (a networking professional) what physical media changes are going on to make this happen. "Fiber" on its own is a pretty mass-market sort of word, or at least seems to be used that way, and "Google" on its own conjures up a certain mystique for average consumers like me.
Time Warner, Comcast, Cox, etc.. typically have 'hybrid fiber coax' (aka HFC) in older neighborhoods. That means fiber to the neighborhood - or possibly the pole... then coaxial cable the home. New build neighborhoods often have fiber to the home. So they can claim "fiber" - but it's only fiber part of the way.

My understanding is google is doing a complete "overbuild" - laying new fiber to every home in the areas they are rolling out. They are also making sure their network infrastructure is set up to handle the capacity.

FWIW - I worked for a cable/fios/uverse supplier for a few decades, but not in the "plant" side, rather on the settop boxes. But I went to enough meetings to know some of the infrastructure/plant issues.
__________________
Retired June 2014. No longer an enginerd - now I'm just a nerd.
micro pensions 7%, rental income 18%
rodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2015, 10:02 AM   #25
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
JoeWras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,515
Quote:
Originally Posted by steelyman View Post
The effects of this are now (yes, now) being seen in the Triangle area in NC (that includes Raleigh).

Time Warner is bumping speeds at no extra cost to areas where it is being rolled out (e.g., the "Standard" 15 Mbs service goes up to 50 Mbps).

This is competition spurred by Google Fiber. I believe it was first announced in Charlotte.

I am curious to learn from someone who actually knows what they're talking about (a networking professional) what physical media changes are going on to make this happen. "Fiber" on its own is a pretty mass-market sort of word, or at least seems to be used that way, and "Google" on its own conjures up a certain mystique for average consumers like me.
TWC has converted to DOCSIS 3.1, so they can jack up speeds on the cable. The physical medium, along with DOCSIS protocol, is enough to reach pretty high speeds. The problem TWC has, however, is they also have to upgrade their back office to handle the speeds. Most of that work will be site unseen to us.

Google Fiber is actually laying fiber. Right now, they are doing a lot of work in Morrisville. The contractor is using horizontal drilling machines to snake conduit everywhere. This is very expensive. They are also going in select neighborhoods and running loops at the curb, which will eventually be connected to houses. Yes, it will be actual fiber to the house. But this is going to take a while. Google will also have what they call "huts" to hold the equipment for the fiber network. These will be shed sized boxes at selected areas in the Triangle. There won't be a need for too many of them.

AT&T Uverse runs fiber to a neighborhood and then terminates to the house with a twisted pair or two of copper. This is old tech. The copper may be 50+ years old. They won't be able to get above about 50Mbps with this tech.

However, AT&T is also feeling the heat and is laying more fiber too. They are extending certain neighborhood loops. To me, it looks like these guys are jumping into neighborhoods where Google Fiber is not yet making waves. Looks like they will try to grab customers first. The AT&T product will be called Uverse with Gigapower. More marking mumbo jumbo. People will be confused because all Uverse's won't be the same.
__________________
JoeWras is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2015, 10:26 AM   #26
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 11,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by rodi View Post
I'm thinking more and more about the $300 1-time investment for 7 years of "free" internet at the same speed I currently have.
This sounds good on the surface, but I wonder about it long term. Is Google trying to eliminate competition, then jack up prices as high as they want? Seven years is a long time, a lot of low-margin companies could be forced out of the market, and others forced to merge. After that, Google is left as the only one standing at the bottom end of the market (with the installed fiber already going to your house, nobody could undercut their prices and also afford to install fiber) and their increases begin.
__________________
"Freedom begins when you tell Mrs. Grundy to go fly a kite." - R. Heinlein
samclem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2015, 11:33 AM   #27
Moderator
rodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 8,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by samclem View Post
This sounds good on the surface, but I wonder about it long term. Is Google trying to eliminate competition, then jack up prices as high as they want? Seven years is a long time, a lot of low-margin companies could be forced out of the market, and others forced to merge. After that, Google is left as the only one standing at the bottom end of the market (with the installed fiber already going to your house, nobody could undercut their prices and also afford to install fiber) and their increases begin.
Well - given the large corporations that offer internet in my hood - this is a non issue. There are NO low margin companies to be forced out of the market. My only internet options are u-verse (att) and time-warner. I wish there were a small start up competitor....
__________________
Retired June 2014. No longer an enginerd - now I'm just a nerd.
micro pensions 7%, rental income 18%
rodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2015, 02:27 PM   #28
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
sengsational's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3,815
Horizontal drilling machines are currently buzzing away in my neighborhood. I talked to some Google fiber reps yesterday afternoon at the pool. They said they would build-out the entire neighborhood (run fiber in front of every house), then "light up" the network all at once.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0690.jpg (486.3 KB, 19 views)
__________________
sengsational is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2015, 05:10 PM   #29
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Nodak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Cavalier
Posts: 2,317
The little rural telephone co-op where I live upgraded to fiber. I pay $90 per month for phone including long distance plus 30Mbs internet both upload and download.

Speedtest.net by Ookla - My Results
__________________
"Don't take life so serious, son. It ain't nohow permanent." Pogo Possum (Walt Kelly)
Nodak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2015, 09:04 PM   #30
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,862
Got my 1Gb fiber installed a month ago or so by the local cableco. Older neighborhood, but upscale and probably 99% cableco customers since DSL is only 1.5 Mb here and no visible TV antennas are allowed. They spent a couple of months digging up the streets and updating their boxes. Then there was a big TV ad/mail blitz. It took another two months or so to get our fiber to home installed, since they had to run conduit instead of just buried cable and install the new in-home box and fiber run. We're now paying about 20% less than we were for 50 Mb internet + cable. We see lots of neighbors getting their gigabit fiber installed as well.

Can't say I notice any big difference between 50Mb and 1Gb other than the reduction in my bill. Thanks Google!
__________________
Animorph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2015, 07:44 AM   #31
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
steelyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Triangle
Posts: 3,218
Thanks JoeWras and rodi - those are the sorts of replies I was hoping for, very informative.

My post was prompted by heading to the TWC office after most Internet-based things just stopped working, all that happened was a redirection to a page saying you needed a new modem. Interestingly, VOIP services (e.g., Ooma) continued to work perfectly (I realized that midway through a verification call to TWC over Ooma).

Here's what I can report: the specific modem they supplied as a replacement, according to the information sheet enclosed with it, is labeled as DOCSIS 3.0. I double-checked on that through the modem's management interface and it agrees. It is manufactured by a company I never heard of, Arris, model TG1672G.

It's definitely plug and play and of course looks slicker with intuitive icons that show you the state of various functions. It's not set up like what it replaced (a Motorola Surfboard, pretty old now that stands like a book on a shelf, spine facing out), but rather lays flat. It appears that some features are not operational and my guess is that's dependent on the level of service for the individual plan (e.g., it looks like it's dual-purpose, serving both as a modem and router, but the basic plans do not go beyond modem. That's also what the public TWC web page indicates).

The TWC-advertised new speeds (all no cost over existing plan) are 50 Mbps (Standard), 100 Mbps (Turbo), 300 Mps (Ultimate). There might be more levels, I'm not sure.

The most obvious change is faster-loading web pages, no noticeable (to me) difference in things like streaming through Roku. Those never-ending app updates on iPhones zip through much faster.

So it's a good incremental change, but not a leap to what full-blown fiber sounds like. I'm not sure if someone like me actually needs that level of service, but increased capacity is always welcome.
__________________

steelyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2015, 07:56 AM   #32
Moderator
rodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 8,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by steelyman View Post

Here's what I can report: the specific modem they supplied as a replacement, according to the information sheet enclosed with it, is labeled as DOCSIS 3.0. I double-checked on that through the modem's management interface and it agrees. It is manufactured by a company I never heard of, Arris, model TG1672G.
ARRIS is the new name for former Motorola modems. ARRIS acquired Motorola Mobility from Google a few years ago. (Just the last of the many corporate mergers/spinoffs/take overs I dealt with before I retired.)

I don't recognize the model number... If it started with SBxxxx - it would be a surfboard modem. But this might be one developed by the ARRIS folks (vs Motorola.)
__________________
Retired June 2014. No longer an enginerd - now I'm just a nerd.
micro pensions 7%, rental income 18%
rodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 06:51 AM   #33
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
steelyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Triangle
Posts: 3,218
I have one more thing to add about this "new" networking setup from Time Warner.

The modem replacement is, in fact, a modem/router combo, and broadcasts itself by default (that is, it shows up with dual bands on other equipment). That is different from what I'd been accustomed to in the Midwest, where I used a bare DSL modem from AT&T along with a nice router I got on recommendation from a rather questionable individual here on e-r.org. The router still performs like a champ.

Since the new wi-fi showed up, I asked TWC what that's all about. They confirmed it and also that they would enable it for an extra $4.99/mo. But I say, "why?".

Info about it (and Motorola models) can be found at www.arris.com
__________________

steelyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 07:18 AM   #34
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
target2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,705
Newer modems have builtin WiFi, and it is available with your service from Google fiber and Comcast. No extra charge with those providers that I'm aware of. I am still holding out and expect to use my older artist modem with Comcast until it dies. The modem, that is. It is arris docsis three without WiFi.

It sounds like your provider is evil. You'll want to stick with your own WiFi router. Unless you want to help out the service provider and send them more money each month.
__________________
target2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 07:26 AM   #35
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
steelyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Triangle
Posts: 3,218
My thinking too, target2019. It's fine as-is.

I am reminded of another item that has improved my residential networking that was uncovered in a search on e-r.org, but that belongs in a different thread. I'll do that this week.
__________________

steelyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 12:41 PM   #36
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
sengsational's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3,815
Quote:
Originally Posted by steelyman View Post
Since the new wi-fi showed up, I asked TWC what that's all about. They confirmed it and also that they would enable it for an extra $4.99/mo. But I say, "why?".
Sometimes the evil cable company (ECC) gives you a modem with guest wifi enabled that you, the payer of the bill, can't turn off. If someone wanders into it and tries to hit a web site, they get an ECC logon screen. If they are a customer of ECC with their credentials, they're using your bandwidth!

I buy my modems off eBay. The last one I got was of the docsis three variety and no wifi built-in. That was by design; I didn't want ECC to be able to monkey with my wifi, which they can do if it's built into the modem. I just went to the ECC site, looked up compatible modems, and shopped eBay. Picked a popular model so more bug disclosures and tips would be available through the geek community. Gotta watch out to make sure you're not buying a leased one, but I've never had a problem in that regard. And I'm still using a wifi router that also happens to be a DSL modem...it's just not connected to a DSL line.
__________________
sengsational is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2016, 10:06 AM   #37
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
steelyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Triangle
Posts: 3,218
Since I enjoyed sidetracking this thread so much before, I figured I'd do it again ("if it feels good...").

I've replaced the gateway (modem/router combo) that TWC provided with a new Arris/Motorola Surfboard 6183 that is compliant with the standard (DOCSIS) that JoeWras mentioned. It works like a charm,is compact, and removes the monthly rental of $10 that TWC charges. And no wi-fi capabilities or indicators (or stealth "hot spots"), the existing router handles that just fine as always.
__________________

steelyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Google Fiber
Old 03-06-2016, 11:29 AM   #38
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Fedup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Southern Cal
Posts: 2,930
Google Fiber

Google a fiber is also coming to my town, I can't wait to get rid of Cox.


Sent from my iPad using Early Retirement Forum
__________________
When I post IIRC, that means going by memory. Google is your friend for facts. Stop being a lazy bum, I can't do all the googling for you. I'm lazy too. LOL
Fedup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2016, 03:44 PM   #39
Moderator
rodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 8,796
I have cellphones through Ting and was on their website today. It looks like Ting is rolling out Gigabit fiber in some markets.

Unfortunately, not mine.

https://ting.com/internet

I have no business connection with Ting other than being a cellphone customer. I just found it interesting to see more competition against the cable companies for broadband.
__________________
Retired June 2014. No longer an enginerd - now I'm just a nerd.
micro pensions 7%, rental income 18%
rodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2016, 05:22 PM   #40
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
sengsational's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3,815
Quote:
Originally Posted by steelyman View Post
Since I enjoyed sidetracking this thread so much before, I figured I'd do it again ("if it feels good...").

I've replaced the gateway (modem/router combo) that TWC provided with a new Arris/Motorola Surfboard 6183 that is compliant with the standard (DOCSIS) that JoeWras mentioned. It works like a charm,is compact, and removes the monthly rental of $10 that TWC charges. And no wi-fi capabilities or indicators (or stealth "hot spots"), the existing router handles that just fine as always.
I bought my FIL a Surfboard, but that was before I knew his rented modem had a phone jack on it. Turns-out that if he runs his Internet through this Surfboard modem I bought him, the modem rental fee goes to zero. Yeah, he still has the same hardware in his house, and that lets him have the bundled telephone, but as long as he's not running Internet through their modem, it's "free".

So along with one of those inexpensive modems, you buy a coax splitter and a couple of chunks of coax. Then you're out of the modem rental business. Luckily he has his own wifi router (he got that from my BIL), because they try to give you a real fancy modem with everything, but he dodged that bullet. And like you say, with the modem that has built-in wifi, they share your internet with the world, whether you like it or not.
__________________

__________________
sengsational is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fiber WM Health and Early Retirement 23 05-16-2009 05:40 PM
Google Chrome - Google's new web browser Marquette Other topics 22 09-04-2008 03:24 PM
Carbon Fiber Stock retire@40 Stock Picking and Market Strategy 3 03-01-2008 10:54 AM
Google launches Google Finance Olav23 FIRE and Money 11 02-08-2008 02:42 PM
Check out the "google" at the top of the google page cute fuzzy bunny Other topics 0 03-17-2006 09:40 PM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:36 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.