Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-01-2010, 04:38 PM   #21
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
happy2bretired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 1,340
I think he fell off his bike and hit his head.
__________________

__________________
happy2bretired is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-01-2010, 05:43 PM   #22
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Leonidas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Where the stars at night are big and bright
Posts: 2,847
This is the guy who won the Powerball a couple of weeks ago. I'm reasonably certain that it's not T-Al:



But this guy that won the MegaMillions...hmmm...could it be Al with a clever disguise?

__________________

__________________
There is no pleasure in having nothing to do; the fun is having lots to do and not doing it. - Andrew Jackson
Leonidas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 01:19 PM   #23
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,072
T-Al - instead of Tivo, would you be able to use the Windows Media Center? You can set it up to tape shows on your computer and then use your computer to drive the TV. I second the digital antenna and using it to grab shows. Also, you had mentioned Hulu - that could be set up with your computer and then 'played' on the TV, too.

If you already know this, then disregard...
__________________
Deserat aka Bridget
“We sleep soundly in our beds because rough men stand ready in the night to visit violence on those who would do us harm.” - George Orwell/Winston Churchill
deserat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 01:31 PM   #24
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Moemg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sarasota,fl.
Posts: 10,031
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leonidas View Post
This is the guy who won the Powerball a couple of weeks ago. I'm reasonably certain that it's not T-Al:



But this guy that won the MegaMillions...hmmm...could it be Al with a clever disguise?


I think you are right on number two . If you take away the beard and add Al's glasses they look pretty similar . If Al mentions buying an Ipad it is him for sure !
__________________
Moemg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 02:16 PM   #25
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,862
Your TV may upscale as well as another DVD player, but Blu-Ray is great. The HD Tivos are good too. You might be able to pick up a refurbished one from Tivo or a used one from Craig's List agian. We finally had to spring for digital cable to add the HD channels, but the cost was only about a $13/month bump and we got extra channels that we do watch. I use an over-the-air antenna for the HD broadcast channels. With one HD channel you probably need to spring for the HD cable. Then you can move the TV closer.
__________________
Animorph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 02:23 PM   #26
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Rustward's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,572
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nords View Post
<snip>

But what torques my jaw is the higher monthly cost of HD cable, the higher TiVo subscription fee, renting the digital cable box, and so on. I know that our $55/month CATV bill is on the low end but I still can't believe that our family is paying $660/year for crap...

Of course paying $375/year for 3 MBPS DSL is simply essential access to intellectually stimulating & enriching entertainment.

As far as I know, TiVo service costs the same across all models although they do seem to try to raise the price of lifetime with each new model. Here we have an S2DT and and S3. The S3 is lifetime and the S2DT is yearly subscription. And properly configured, the TiVo should substitute for the cable box, in most cases.

CATV keeps going up and up. We use cable for analog (source for the S2DT, and stuff not available locally OTA), and pick up what seems like dozens of local HD stations with an OTA antenna. I'd suggest that anybody tempted to upgrade to HD cable at least try an antenna. Of course your location will have a lot to do with how well this might work.
__________________
Rustward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 02:39 PM   #27
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
calmloki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Independence
Posts: 5,459
True that - we get 1 HD here in Independence Oregon with a similar homemade bow-tie coat-hanger antenna - and that is with getting it way up in the air and playing with orientation. Nature on HD looks great, but I'm reminded of seeing Mrs. Doubtfire from the front row of a theater. Looking up the caverns of Robin William's nostrils just did not enhance the experience. Seemed to me that the makeup artists haven't come up to HD speed yet.
__________________
calmloki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 03:05 PM   #28
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
TromboneAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11,197
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leonidas View Post
This is the guy who won the Powerball a couple of weeks ago. I'm reasonably certain that it's not T-Al:


Yes, that's me, but I don't know who the blonde is -- someone photoshopped her in. That's my story, and I'm sticking to it.

I'll probably stay with our current DVD player, unless I find an upscaling model that is region-free and let's me disable UOP. I've read articles that say a DVD player can do a better job of upscaling than the TV, but I'm not convinced. I've read things that say that YPrPb is better than s-video which is better that composite video, but I've experimented with these and see no difference.

When I find a VGA cable, I'll try hooking to the computer. I've done it with an s-video cable, but that gives about the same resolution as that of the DVD player. A problem with that is that there is no way to skip past the commercials on the computer.
__________________
Al
TromboneAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 09:20 PM   #29
Moderator Emeritus
Nords's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Oahu
Posts: 26,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by NW-Bound View Post
Like Nords, I am too cheap to pay for HD cable.
I feel I should point out that we've watched plenty of HDTV at friends' houses, but it just has no value to us. People who can tell the difference should get HDTV if they can afford it and think it's worth the $$, but in our case it's more a silk purse:sow's ear issue.

I could sure tell the performance boost when I upgraded from a 14.4 KBPS modem to 56 KBPS many years ago. But, heck, now I don't think I'd even be able to tell the difference between 3 MBPS and 7.
__________________
*
*

The book written on E-R.org, "The Military Guide to Financial Independence and Retirement", on sale now! For more info see "About Me" in my profile.
I don't spend much time here anymore, so please send me a PM. Thanks.
Nords is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 09:52 PM   #30
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 582
Al, have you tried an HDMI cable from your DVD player? (If it has that option) My sister recently got a new larger television and some things didn't look nearly as good, but they're significantly better with the HDMI cable. I wasn't responsible for the tech setup, so I don't really know more than that.
__________________

WM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 09:27 AM   #31
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
TromboneAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11,197
The DVD player is too old to have an HDMI output.

Right now I'm dealing with the following issues:

1. For all analog channels, there is no audio in the right channel if the signal comes through the cable input (that is, from the F-pin RF connector that is fed from the cable from the wall). If the input comes through the component video/audio connectors it is fine, of if I'm tuned to a digital channel, it is fine. If the signal goes to the TIVO through the RF connector, and then to the TV via component video, everything is fine.

Westinghouse told me to pull out the cable, autoscan, then put it back in and autoscan, and that's what I'm doing now.

2. There is definitely something wrong with the analog closed captioning. If I view the CBS digital channel, the captioning is fine, CBS analog, and I only get about 10% of the words. So unless CBS has different captioning for their digital station, the analog captioning is not working. Westinghouse has "never heard of that."

Next tech support call will be to the cable company.
__________________
Al
TromboneAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 10:20 AM   #32
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7,526
Not sure how new your computer is, but you may be able to buy a relatively cheap graphics card (in the $25-$50 range) that has HDMI output and can do 1080p.

I was actually able to get my parents' new Hanspree 32" HDTV to display in 1080p via a VGA connection (from my netbook no less). It looked flawless as a computer monitor and played videos very well, except all my videos were in the 480 resolution range, hence there were jpeg/avi artifacts you could see.
__________________
Retired in 2013 at age 33. Keeping busy reading, blogging, relaxing, gaming, and enjoying the outdoors with my wife and 3 kids (5, 11, and 12).
FUEGO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 10:24 AM   #33
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
NW-Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 19,401
That's one way to do it, but the computer is noisy and will have to be placed close to the TV. And the computer does not have a remote control, which will cost extra if you want to run Windoze Media Center. And to watch TV, you have to wait 10 min for the PC to boot up.

I vote for our new lotto winner to get the $44 upscaling DVD player with HDMI.
__________________
"Old age is the most unexpected of all things that can happen to a man" -- Leon Trotsky
NW-Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 10:47 AM   #34
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
TromboneAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11,197
I just happened to notice that Lena's laptop has an HDMI output port. So, I may buy a 15 foot HDMI cable and try that out.

A cable guy is coming out today to improve the signal, and perhaps solve the closed captioning issue. No joy on the right channel audio issue. It's not much of a problem, since it only happens for the external speakers, and for things recorded on or watched through TIVO, it is fine. It will go away as the analog channels go away.
__________________
Al
TromboneAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 08:32 AM   #35
Moderator Emeritus
Martha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: minnesota
Posts: 13,212
I recently bought an hdmi cable to run from my computer to a tv so I can watch hulu and other stuff on tv. But I still have to buy the tv. Currently at the farm I have no tv at all, though I do have a little 13 inch tv out in the motorhome. I am debating a dvd player and first will try using the computer as the player, attached via the hdmi cable.
__________________
.


No more lawyer stuff, no more political stuff, so no more CYA

Martha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 08:55 AM   #36
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
TromboneAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11,197
The cable guy was pretty useless, but I've got things adjusted such that I can record a show from the cable or from the computer (using the s-video standard def connection) that's very good. So, if I were to run an HDMI cable from the computer to the TV I'd get a better picture, but lose the ability to record (and thus skip commercials), and the trade-off isn't worth it.

Unfortunately, if there are subtitles, hulu puts them half in and half out of the letterbox image. So if you set the TV to overscan so that the image fits the screen, you lose half the subtitles.

Yesterday I recorded Les Paul -- Chasing the Sound via Hulu, and enjoyed watching it last night.

I now have to determine if the subtitles problem is a cable problem or TV problem, and if it's the former, prove it to the cable company.
__________________
Al
TromboneAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2010, 12:20 PM   #37
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
TromboneAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11,197
Update: I solved the closed captioning problem today by installing a firmware upgrade. It required a bit of persistence with tech support, buying a thumb drive, and going through a procedure which would brick the TV if not done perfectly.

They should have recognized that as the source of the problem right away instead of insisting that my problem was "very unique."
__________________
Al
TromboneAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2010, 12:43 PM   #38
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
REWahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 42,078
Quote:
Originally Posted by TromboneAl View Post
Update: I solved the closed captioning problem today by installing a firmware upgrade. It required a bit of persistence with tech support, buying a thumb drive, and going through a procedure which would brick the TV if not done perfectly.

They should have recognized that as the source of the problem right away instead of insisting that my problem was "very unique."
So the problem was with the TV?
__________________
Numbers is hard

When I hit 70, it hit back

Retired in 2005 at age 58, no pension
REWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 09:03 AM   #39
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
TromboneAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11,197
Yes, it was the TV. Either all TVs with this firmware version have the problem, or it's some kind of interaction with this firmware and the cable signal.

BTW, I got action from Westinghouse after posting a video of the problem on YouTube for them to check out:

__________________
Al
TromboneAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 12:18 PM   #40
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Bimmerbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,631
I just bought a new TV too and use a spare PC as a Windows Media Center PC. It has a remote (look for a media center remote) and a 30 second skip button so I can skip thru commercials. I can watch HD channels via my cable service, but only broadcast ones.

The others require a set top box or HD DVR.

Connection via the RGB cable is the best, but HDMI is very close and carries sound too.
__________________

__________________
Bimmerbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
You Can't Make This Stuff Up MasterBlaster Other topics 10 02-24-2010 04:54 PM
Stuff. Weirdest stuff? Oldest stuff? M Paquette Other topics 43 09-27-2009 03:20 PM
DVR Just Became Obsolete? TromboneAl Other topics 19 09-22-2009 09:08 PM
Wrist Watches Obsolete? Midpack Other topics 69 07-22-2009 08:27 PM
You can't make this stuff up... REWahoo Other topics 18 05-01-2008 11:55 AM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:26 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.