Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Graphics Card Question
Old 12-11-2016, 09:07 AM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 9,942
Graphics Card Question

When looking for a graphics card are cards with the same card manufacturer but different brand name the same?

For example, here are two cards with one "Asus ATI Radeon HD6450" the other "MSI ATI Radeon HD6450".

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B004X8EO6Q...+graphics+card

https://www.amazon.com/MSI-Profile-P...+Radeon+HD6450

The Asus uses a heatsink, the MSI uses a fan. But still they are both an ATI Radeon HD6450 card.

This question is more out of curiosity than current need.
__________________

__________________
Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-11-2016, 09:42 AM   #2
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
DrRoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,813
They are different cards, but use the same chipset and graphics processor.
__________________

__________________
"The mountains are calling, and I must go." John Muir
DrRoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2016, 09:47 AM   #3
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Big_Hitter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: In the fairway
Posts: 5,269
correct
__________________
Swing hard, look up
Big_Hitter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2016, 09:54 AM   #4
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2,373
Confusing question. The ATI Radeon HD6450 really refers to the chip set that is used. It defines the primary chips are made by ATI -- the same chip set manufacturer, not the board manufacturer.
The board manufacturer many or may not be MSI or Asus. In high volume things like this sometimes chip manufacturer require ODM (original design and manufacturer) to design and build the product. This is not the chip manufacturer, but a design house that will build similar product for many companies that sell product. Note there will likely be a number of ODM that can work with each chip vendor. The idea here is to minimize the support that the chip vendors need to do with design houses and minimize the engineering required by the product sellers.
Now when the ODM designs the product to the requirements of their customer, they may include some optional part of the design like how much memory or is a curtain feature is supported. Your example shows at least a difference in cooling that may (or may not) effect perceived performance. Better cooling could allow higher clock speeds or better MTBF.

So, If the chip set is the same, then there may be similar performance. However, there still could be differences in the individual designs on the board. It is also possible that the boards could be deigned and built by the same company... or possible that two boards built for the same seller could be designed by different ODM.
bingybear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2016, 09:54 AM   #5
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 9,942
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrRoy View Post
They are different cards, but use the same chipset and graphics processor.
So, given that example, say a manufacturer like Dell or HP says a computer works with the Asus, there's no guarantee the computer would work with the MSI? Just curious, again.
__________________
Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2016, 09:59 AM   #6
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,261
Also, just because the same chipset is used, the type and number of output interfaces can vary significantly from board to board (VGA, HDMI, DVI, etc).

Also, power supply installed in a given computer may or may not be adequate for a given graphics card.
RE2Boys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2016, 09:59 AM   #7
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 9,942
Quote:
Originally Posted by bingybear View Post
Confusing question...
Yeah, I guess "the same" was too vague a question. Sorry .
__________________
Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2016, 02:40 PM   #8
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
DrRoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,813
Quote:
Originally Posted by easysurfer View Post
So, given that example, say a manufacturer like Dell or HP says a computer works with the Asus, there's no guarantee the computer would work with the MSI? Just curious, again.
I would expect that either video card would work.
__________________
"The mountains are calling, and I must go." John Muir
DrRoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2016, 04:24 PM   #9
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 9,942
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrRoy View Post
I would expect that either video card would work.

Yes, Probably. I did have a situation a few years ago when going from Win XP to 7, I wasn't able to reuse a graphics card that worked fine on HP but had to get a lower end card to work with my Dell. I'm sure there were other variables involved than just the computer company.
__________________

__________________
Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Fiscal Cliff, In Three And A Half Graphics mickeyd FIRE Related Public Policy 91 12-23-2012 01:44 PM
ER Flags (Lots of Graphics) BigMoneyJim Other topics 16 10-29-2009 10:51 AM

» Quick Links

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:46 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×