Join Early Retirement Today

H&R Block Tax prep course advice
Old 10-05-2008, 11:59 AM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

H&R Block Tax prep course advice

Or maybe this is more like career advice. I am greatly under-employed. I'm looking to contribute more to our savings in preparation for my husband's retirement from a local government job. He'd like to retire in 5 years (cola-ed pension) but his job may not last that long. He reaches 25 years within the next few months.

I have a degree in Early Childhood Education from 1977. I never taught, there was a glut of teachers at the time and I eventually ended up working as a Staff Accountant for a local company. By that time I had a few college accounting courses but I do not have an accounting degree. The pay was good for the time, especially for not having the degree, and I enjoyed the work and learned a lot. I left the Staff Accountant job in 1984 to raise a family.

I did not work for 22 years. In 2006 I started working in a minimal part-time job as a School Crossing Guard, just to have a little income for a small amount of time commitment and specifically to complete my Social Security credits. I also work seasonally as a summer concert venue usher and also as an usher for a state university at sports events. Fun stuff, far too easy. All the money goes toward debt reduction. We've paid off one car, the next one will be paid off next month. After that it's just extra money for the future.

I'd like to get back into something accounting related, even if it's at a clerical level. Being that my accounting job was so long ago and my current work is so lightweight and unrelated, I'm not even getting interviews when I apply for jobs. They are looking for recent experience or experience that's more specific to their field.