Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Hack? One zoned to two zoned A/C
Old 07-13-2007, 11:00 AM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,155
Hack? One zoned to two zoned A/C

My 2 story house has a single zoned A/C (and heat). It is not a problem now with four people living in it (2 parents, 2 kids). My kids are leaving for college this September. Most of the time, my wife and I will be downstair during the day, and upstair for sleeping at night.

What is the CHEAPEST (material and labor) way to hack the system so we can cool/heat only the needed portion of the house? Has anyone attempted this? Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-13-2007, 11:39 AM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
cute fuzzy bunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Losing my whump
Posts: 22,697
Probably replacing your existing registers with ones that can be remotely/electronically opened and closed. They run the wiring right up inside or along the duct work and I'd be shocked to discover that someone hasnt come up with a wireless option.

Or you could buy a 6' piece of 1/2" dowel and knock them open and closed manually for free.
__________________

__________________
Be fearful when others are greedy, and greedy when others are fearful. Just another form of "buy low, sell high" for those who have trouble with things. This rule is not universal. Do not buy a 1973 Pinto because everyone else is afraid of it.
cute fuzzy bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 01:07 PM   #3
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 18,255
In addition to selectively opening and closing the vents, you could also add a thermostat so that you have one on each floor.

You could run a switch so that one OR the other is in the circuit. I've been meaning to do this in our house, but I'm just too busy now that I'm retired .

All the bedrooms are upstairs. The biggest problem for us is when we need the A/C on for humidity, but when it is not all that hot outside. The A/C stays off for a long time, and the heat rises upstairs. I think a thermostat upstairs would help. Sometimes I've left the fan on ON, and that helps, but I'm really running the fan more than I need.

-ERD50
__________________
ERD50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2007, 03:42 PM   #4
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,155
Thanks guys.

Do you know where I can find vents/registers that can be remotely (not necessarily wireless) opened and closed?

As far as the thermostat is concerned, I'm thinking of using only one, but have it installed in the smallest room of the house and keep that room cooled or heated all the time.
__________________
Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ticker Factory hack :) HobbyDave Other topics 3 05-02-2007 08:26 PM
What to do with IRA and brokerage a/c love2surf FIRE and Money 2 03-17-2007 11:01 PM
URL Problem Possible Hack Outtahere Forum Admin 21 05-17-2006 11:43 PM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:53 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.